Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Yeast - How many times can it be reused

Old 01-11-2007, 04:34 AM   #1
weekendBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Yeast - How many times can it be reused

Greetings All,

I'm new to brewing and like the idea of reusing/storing the yeast cakes from my primary. My question is: How many times can it be reused. The reason I ask is because I saw a show on the History? channel about brewing and the large commercial brewery they were documenting (Miller I think) said they reuse their yeast batches 3 times and then dump them out and start again. The reasoning was because after 3 uses the yeast would start to change its overall flavor profile. Any thoughts?

Old 01-11-2007, 05:15 AM   #2
Spyk'd

Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts

Most home brewers use the yeast up to six times....more if no off flavors result from the resuse and your sanitation practices are impeccable.

I use the smallest baby food jars they make to store my yeast and split my harvests into 4-8 jars per generation (do the math) and have had very good results. Using this method, you need to buy yeast only now and again.

Good Luck!!!

American Red
Keg Conditioning:
Gruit
On Tap:
ESB
Bottled:
Nada...
On Deck:
Porter, Belgian Abbey Ale

Old 01-11-2007, 05:17 AM   #3
johnsma22

Recipes 

Liked 37 Times on 30 Posts

I have heard that the conventional wisdom is five generations is about the max. After that and the flavor profile of the yeast will change from all the mutations. However, I don't know this from experience. I have gone to the third generation, but no further.

John

Old 01-11-2007, 05:35 AM   #4
Blender

Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 4 Posts

If I get three uses I'm happy. That is what I shoot for.

Old 01-11-2007, 01:55 PM   #5
homebrewer_99

Recipes 

Liked 94 Times on 80 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I use 3, but I have gone to 5 without any problems.