Using two Carboys - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Using two Carboys

Old 08-02-2010, 10:48 PM   #1
SauceBoss
Recipes 

Jul 2010
Orlando, FL

Hi all,

I tried searching the forum but really wasnt sure what to search for so I figured I would ask here. I am new to brewing and for my birthday got a kit and two glass carboys. Somewhere I heard that after the original fermentation is complete in the first carboy, you could siphon the contents to a second sanitized carboy and let it sit for a few more days to help clarify the beer even more...does this sound right or is it unnecessary. I will be brewing a Bitter IPA, not sure if that helps or not.

Any insight would be appreciated.

Old 08-02-2010, 11:04 PM   #2
Tinga

Recipes 

May 2010
MN
Liked 39 Times on 30 Posts

the process you described is using a secondary fermenter. most people on here only use secondaries when adding fruit or dry hopping. otherwise we normally just leave it in primary for four weeks then bottle or keg.

so if you plan on dry hopping or adding any fruit you don't need the second carboy right now. but i would hold on so you have more fermenters to do multiple batches at once.

Old 08-02-2010, 11:06 PM   #3
ChshreCat

Recipes 

Aug 2008
Camano Island, Washington
Liked 542 Times on 434 Posts

All a matter of personal preference. I like to go 3 weeks in primary and a week in secondary for extra clearing since I can be a klutz when I siphon. Either way, extra time is always good for your beer, so don't feel you have to bottle a few days after fermentation stops, whether you use a secondary or just a primary.

Old 08-02-2010, 11:07 PM   #4
SauceBoss
Recipes 

Jul 2010
Orlando, FL

Thanks Tinga, thats what Ill do then unless I plan on dry hopping. Not planning on actually brewing till this weekend (waiting for my brew kettle to get here lol).