GE 7 cu ft Freezer Power Draw - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Kegerators & Keezers > GE 7 cu ft Freezer Power Draw

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-19-2010, 07:24 PM   #1
SudsGuy
Recipes 
 
Jul 2008
Alabama
Posts: 26


Hi all,

I've looked high and low here and online for some information on the GE 7 cu ft Freezer's power draw to no avail. I called GE and (surprise, surprise) the woman who answered the phone was no help. She told me that the freezer requires 3000-4500W on start-up (about 40A @120V) which I'm thinking can't be right.

Does anyone know for sure what the start-up, or running, power draw is for this freezer? Or the current draw (either will work)? I have a 10A SSR that I was going to use with an external temperature controller so I want to make sure that's robust enough.

Thanks!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 07:38 PM   #2
dgooden
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
Sarasota, FL
Posts: 37

I have a GE 8.8 cubic inch freezer, and I just went and checked it out. It peaks at about 8 amps when it starts up, and is ~5 amps when running. Obviously, our freezers may vary.

Additionally, there should be a sticker on the freezer that tells its electrical requirements.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 07:52 PM   #3
SudsGuy
Recipes 
 
Jul 2008
Alabama
Posts: 26

I know there's a sticker on it, but I'm still in the planning stages so I don't have the freezer yet and I don't want to make a trip to the store just to see the power draw.

I'm going to assume that the smaller freezer will not draw more than the larger so the 10A SSR should work...if it does, then I'll have to adjust when I get the freezer.

Thanks!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 07:54 PM   #4
daugenet
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
May 2010
SC
Posts: 299
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts


Your manual indicated that if you use an extension cord to have one rated for 15 amps so i would think that 40A is way out of line.....

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 08:17 PM   #5
jppostKW
 
jppostKW's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2009
Englewood CO
Posts: 1,807
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts


most hvac compressors that i have seen have a start up capacitor that helps lighten the draw on the household circuit
__________________
Diesel Fuel Brewery

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulthenurse View Post
It would be the brewing equivalent of painting the Sistine Chapel with Crayola Crayons.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuntman View Post
You sir, are a specialist in the art of discovering a welcoming outcome of a particular situation....not a mechanic.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 02:33 AM   #6
marzsit
Recipes 
 
Sep 2009
kent, wa.
Posts: 316
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts


my 15-year old 14cu ft whirpool pulls 6 amps on startup and 2.5 amps when running. i switch it with a 10-amp mechanical relay, and the contacts still look new after 2 years of running time. newer units that use r134a refrigerant operate at higher pressures so have higher starting loads.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 06:58 PM   #7
rcrabb22
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
rcrabb22's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2008
Illinois
Posts: 714
Liked 23 Times on 16 Posts


My Whirlpool 8.9cuft freezer pulls approx. 5A at startup and .9 steady state

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shore Power Cord? Mose Brew Stands 8 04-16-2010 05:12 PM
Power Distribution block? Amity Brew Stands 1 03-20-2010 01:43 AM
rotary switch for ac power? tkone DIY Projects 8 12-12-2009 10:10 PM
Stirplate power? Gumbys_Brew Chillers & Stir Plates 16 11-18-2009 08:20 PM
power mash stirrer chris1979 Kettles, Mash Tuns & Hot Liquor Tanks 1 04-29-2009 03:41 PM


Forum Jump