Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Anyone ever consider brewing when looking for a new home?

Old 06-23-2010, 04:56 PM   #1
BmillaTheBrewzilla
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Anyone ever consider brewing when looking for a new home?

My SWMBO and I are going to start looking for a new place in a few months. I hope she takes it alright when my main criteria include a deep sink, a powerful stove, room for a chest freezer, and plenty of pantry space.

Old 06-23-2010, 05:01 PM   #2
glockentalk
Recipes 

I got lucky in that my place was well set up when we bought it, and that was long before I started brewing. The basement was set up for canning, with a deep sink, work table, and solid shelving in a dark cubby. Now I never want to leave the place.

Old 06-23-2010, 05:04 PM   #3
dap325
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I would consider thing like pantry space and room for a chest freezer. When I buy my first house I want a decent sized garage and finshed/finishable basement. When you're spending that much money, its ok to be picky to a certain extent. A sink and a stove wouldn't be deal breakers for me. I can add a deep sink, but I cannot make a small/low ceiling basement more livable, or build a garage for the same price.

Old 06-23-2010, 05:11 PM   #4
Airborneguy
Adjunct of the Law
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 845 Times on 624 Posts
Likes Given: 1105

100%. When we move, we want to look in a particular neighborhood where every house has a detached garage and basement. Basically, I would cede the basement to the kids, and turn the garage into a brewery/bar. She's totally onboard with my goals, so unless the market changes big time, it will probably happen in the next few years.