Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Nothing on the output side of my SSR????
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-20-2010, 08:43 PM   #1
Krelja
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 223
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Nothing on the output side of my SSR????

I'm trying to finish up my RIMS brewery and I'm running into problems getting the element to fire up on my RIMS tube. I'm running it off a Auber SYL-2362 PID. I get 6.5v DC coming from the PID to the SSR and no matter what setting it's on I can't get any power at the output side of the pid. Even if there is nothing hooked up to the output there should still be voltage there correct. The wiring that is hooked up to the element is black on one terminal and white on the other and the green is grounded to my frame. Thanks in advance and if you need more info let me know I want to be done for now


Krelja is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 01:06 AM   #2
bf514921
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central City
Posts: 311
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

pictures or drawing of wiring would be a big help


bf514921 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 02:06 AM   #3
Krelja
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 223
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I'm struggling through paint right now
Krelja is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 03:06 AM   #4
Krelja
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 223
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default


Here's what I have so far. I also have an outlet that the pump is run through on the same switch setup and that's it for now
Krelja is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 04:14 AM   #5
ClaudiusB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,307
Liked 68 Times on 58 Posts
Likes Given: 128

Default

Quote:
I get 6.5v DC coming from the PID to the SSR and no matter what setting it's on I can't get any power at the output side of the pid.
I am assuming you mean SSR.
Based on your drawing do the following:
Remove the red wire from your SSR output side and connect to the red terminal block.
Install a wire from your black terminal block (Hot) to the SSR.
Remember the SS functions as a switch and requires hot on one side.
Install a fuse in case the SSR fails.


Cheers,
ClaudiusB
ClaudiusB is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 12:29 PM   #6
Krelja
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 223
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

That makes sense now. I'm going to try and run home during lunch and rewire the inside. I was hoping to get this thing working for a birthday brew tomorow. And you were right ClaudiusB I meant I was getting the 6.5 volts on the input side and nothing on the output side of the SSR. I'll keep it updated
Krelja is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 02:26 PM   #7
Sawdustguy
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manorville, New York
Posts: 2,781
Liked 34 Times on 29 Posts

Default

You have no AC power going to your SSR to switch. Wire it like this:

__________________
Guy
Sawdustguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 02:36 PM   #8
NoNothing
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ann Arbor Mi
Posts: 431
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sawdustguy View Post
You have no AC power going to your SSR to switch. Wire it like this:

Simple mistake, Ive made it right there with you though. When I was wiring up my kegerator SSR I would test it and the compressor just wouldnt turn on, I was pissed.

Until I realized the damn thing is a switch and I needed to run one of the same hot lines through it so it could switch on and off.

Simple mistake IMO.
__________________
On Tap:
Primary: [Three Hearted] [Irish Red]
NoNothing is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 07:49 PM   #9
Krelja
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 223
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

It makes me feel dumb after actually seeing it as it should be out in front of me. I guess I strayed from the KISS method and went straight to my mind racing like crazy. I'm heading home to rewire and see what happens. It also makes sense to me now what exactly the SSR does and that's real simple too yet I looked past it. Thanks again guys and hopefully I'll have this thing running for a Birthday brew, it's going to be a MO Sorachi Ace smash and I'm sure I'm going to have more questions after that
Krelja is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 01:09 AM   #10
Krelja
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 223
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Worked like a charm. Makes me see that I need a little more separation between my element and my thermocoupler. Time to finish the wort chiller and keep my fingers crossed


Krelja is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Side by Side to Fermentation Chamber - Wont cool Jewrican Fermenters 4 06-15-2010 05:19 PM
SSR Heat Output? RonRock Brew Stands 9 02-08-2010 04:35 PM
Side by Side Fridge/Freezer Combo for Fermentation and Distribution? Craig Equipment/Sanitation 3 09-21-2009 06:16 PM
First partial mash side by side taste test. brian_g All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 1 06-23-2009 12:48 PM
CO2 regulator NOT 5/16 output. cpbergie Bottling/Kegging 2 04-22-2007 06:40 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS