Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Service panel question.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-2010, 06:40 PM   #1
wildwest450
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9,099
Liked 170 Times on 155 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default Service panel question.

I just ran a 100 amp service to my brew shed, it's an 80 ft run. Is there a need for a disconnect at the box? Of course there's a 100 amp breaker in the main panel, and the brew shed panel is a 6 double space box. There's no need for another 100 amp breaker is there? There aren't that many spaces to begin with.


wildwest450 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 06:50 PM   #2
SweetSounds
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,429
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Nope

They are 2 different types of panel. If you need a 100 Amp disconnect, it's a different animal than a 100 amp "Sub panel"

But I didn't have to install a disconnect after the main breaker (In the main panel) for my garage sub panel...


__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecnerwal View Post
What does the primary pressure gauge on the tank tell us? That's right, the temperature. Put it on a scale if you want to know how much is in it...
Put some duct tape over the gauge - Or better yet - Replace the high pressure gauge with a plug - High pressure gauges are useless!
SweetSounds is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 07:02 PM   #3
wildwest450
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9,099
Liked 170 Times on 155 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetSounds View Post
Nope

They are 2 different types of panel. If you need a 100 Amp disconnect, it's a different animal than a 100 amp "Sub panel"

But I didn't have to install a disconnect after the main breaker (In the main panel) for my garage sub panel...
Cool, just double checking. I want to do things right even though there's no inspection.


.
wildwest450 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 07:47 PM   #4
lazybean
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 185
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Not true, it can depend on your local codes! Here we have a fire code that says anytime you run electricity to an separate building you HAVE to have disconnect located on the outside of it, with no more then 3 separate operations.

As for NEC, you do not need a Main Breaker for your sub-panel, as long as it is rated for 100amps. Make sure it is not one of those 60amp panels, but a true 100amp Load Center.
lazybean is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 09:11 PM   #5
wildwest450
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9,099
Liked 170 Times on 155 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lazybean View Post
Not true, it can depend on your local codes!

As for NEC, you do not need a Main Breaker for your sub-panel, as long as it is rated for 100amps. Make sure it is not one of those 60amp panels, but a true 100amp Load Center.
Local codes, your funny. We do as we please here in White County. That's probably why a house burns down every week here.

It is a 100amp load center, of that i'm positive.
wildwest450 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 11:04 PM   #6
SweetSounds
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,429
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lazybean View Post
Not true, it can depend on your local codes! Here we have a fire code that says anytime you run electricity to an separate building you HAVE to have disconnect located on the outside of it, with no more then 3 separate operations.

As for NEC, you do not need a Main Breaker for your sub-panel, as long as it is rated for 100amps. Make sure it is not one of those 60amp panels, but a true 100amp Load Center.
True - Mine is rated 125 amps - Though I only have 50 amps feeding it.

But, you are referring to a disconnect outside the building? Not a main breaker inside the sub panel?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecnerwal View Post
What does the primary pressure gauge on the tank tell us? That's right, the temperature. Put it on a scale if you want to know how much is in it...
Put some duct tape over the gauge - Or better yet - Replace the high pressure gauge with a plug - High pressure gauges are useless!
SweetSounds is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 08:25 PM   #7
Bubba_Mustafa
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gitmo Nation West, NC
Posts: 171
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildwest450 View Post
Local codes, your funny. We do as we please here in White County.
Then why ask?
Bubba_Mustafa is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 03:39 AM   #8
wildwest450
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9,099
Liked 170 Times on 155 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubba_Mustafa View Post
Then why ask?
Cause I don't want to be the fool that burns his house down. Just because no one is watching doesn't mean to half ass something.


.
wildwest450 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 09:22 PM   #9
Stickshaker
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 190
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

N.E.C. says that if you can kill all the circuits with 6 or fewer hand movements, no main is needed (except the one in your feeder panel of course).


Stickshaker is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Height for a service panel? wildwest450 Brew Stands 14 06-03-2010 05:18 PM
Control Panel Question I_B_Mongo Equipment/Sanitation 3 12-22-2009 08:12 PM
Control panel question ILOVEBEER Brew Stands 12 10-07-2009 01:16 PM
upgrading service panel tarheels Equipment/Sanitation 25 01-09-2009 11:46 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS