Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Help a Electical Idiot
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-02-2010, 12:00 AM   #1
Krelja
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 223
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Help a Electical Idiot

So I'm down to what I think is just the about the "end" of my sculpture build and now I'm down to the control panel and electonics. I'm running a RIMS system with with propane for the keggle and the HLT. I'm about to start ordering more pieces to get my control panel going and I'm having trouble wrapping my brain around some things. What I have right now is a ammo box that has been cut at a angle and has my auber PID mounted into it. I also have the RIMS tube built with a 110v low density element and a auber thermocoupler. Now the first problem I'm running into is how to get power to the control box. The idea that I'm leaning towards now is basically cutting a small extension cord and wiring it right to a power distribution panel inside the box with just the male end hanging out. This is the one I was looking to order http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/...ries)/HPB106-3
The only thing I don't like about it is it seems to take a big wire to feed it and I don't want anything loose. Also I wouldn't mind it being a little cheaper. Next thing to order was these switches to control power to the march pump and the PID/element http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/...nt/GCX3243-120
I like the way they look, they seem like a decent price and they will work for my application. SO long story short I need a good way to get power into the box and I want opinions on how to spread it around. I don't want to cut corners or have something that can't handle the power I'm sending thorugh it. Since I'm no electrician I'd like all the help I can get. I learn alot from pics so please post as many as you like so I can be done with this and start brewing I've got a 100 lbs of uncrushed grain that is taunting me every day this thing drags on. I'll post some pics of my progress either tonight or tomorow


Krelja is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 01:21 PM   #2
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,244
Liked 97 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krelja View Post
the first problem I'm running into is how to get power to the control box. The idea that I'm leaning towards now is basically cutting a small extension cord and wiring it right to a power distribution panel inside the box with just the male end hanging out. This is the one I was looking to order http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/Shopping/Catalog/Power_Products_(Electrical)/Power_Distribution_Blocks/Open_Style,_UL_Listed,_175A-310A_(HPB_Series)/HPB106-3
The only thing I don't like about it is it seems to take a big wire to feed it and I don't want anything loose. Also I wouldn't mind it being a little cheaper.
You can get away with MUCH cheaper than this for power distribution.

I built my block out of modular items that mount to a piece of railing in my control box. It handles 50A and wires anywhere from 22 gauge to 8 gauge in size.

I listed part numbers (from mouser.com) for the items I used here:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/my-h...7/#post2003768

Even with shipping added in, you can build the power distribution block (and give yourself room to easily expand it later) for about $15.

Mouser might also sell switches equivalent to the ones you linked if you want to shop at just one place.


__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 12:49 AM   #3
Krelja
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 223
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I did go a different route on the distribution block cause I wasn't happy with price and the size of the wires feeding the block. I went with this instead it is rated for 30 amps where as the radio shack ones were 15.
http://www.wiringproducts.com/contents/en-us/d234.html the 30 amp terminal block
I'm still wondering how everybody is getting power to the box. Is my idea of just cutting a cord and sending it to the blocks ok? I was kind of hoping to get something like the back of a computer or something like that anybody got any ideas? Thanks again Walker for the help but keep em coming
Krelja is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 01:54 PM   #4
mattmauriello
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Silver Spring MD
Posts: 77
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

You didn't mention the power of your heating element, how many amps are you planning on needing?
the computer type outlets are pretty easy to get a hold of, but you have to keep the power consumption in mind. check these out... they're on mouser.com and can get you what you're looking for:
up to 10 amps
http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/...4Qlbte2fWf5I3E
up to 16 amps
http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/...dfSqT4XCYHFo64

the 16 amp one is a c19-c20 type. its less common, but plug wires can be found if you look. the link doesn't have a picture, but the catalog page links should help you out. they're both pretty cheap too. if you really want to step it though, I'd go with this
http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/...4QlcrN2o/7OE4K. its a 16 amp, with a switch.
mattmauriello is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 02:38 PM   #5
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,244
Liked 97 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

I need to pull over 40A or so, and didn't want to mess with trying to rig up a plug on the thing. I suspect one capable of handling 240V and 50A would be pretty pricey.

So, my main power cable is just hard-wired to the control box. You can see it in the lower right corner of this pic:
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 09:04 PM   #6
Krelja
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 223
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I'm probably going to go the route Walker did with something thats rated for 20 amps. The RIMS element I'm using is a low density 120v 1500 watt element from www.plumbingsupply.com I have a 20 amp dedicated ckt in the garage which I will be using for this thing. As for the draw I will be running 1 march809 pump the pid and the element it seems like is shold be just fine. I just want to get things right the first time. I thought I'd be done but after tri-clovers and many other random things changing the budget I'm getting slower by the day it should be done soon. I hope


Krelja is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ah I need help! I am an idiot! kauz Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 5 12-23-2008 02:14 AM
Wow Im an Idiot! Please Help DtownRiot Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 8 12-22-2008 04:02 PM
I MIGHT be an idiot but.. JMU_Alumn08 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 8 12-09-2008 03:48 AM
Am I an idiot? Hooraybeer! Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 34 01-05-2008 01:11 AM
This just in...I'm an idiot... prosnowsk8er Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 9 11-10-2007 04:00 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS