100 gallon propane tank with turkey fryer - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > 100 gallon propane tank with turkey fryer

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2010, 02:02 AM   #1
interplexr
Recipes 
 
Feb 2010
Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 72
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts



Has anyone hooked up their turkey fryer or similar high pressure (5+ PSIG) burner to a 100 gallon or bigger propane tank?

I have a 100 gallon tank that runs my gas logs so we hardly use any of that gas where I go through 20lb tanks on a regular basis with my turkey fryer. I want to hook the fryer up to the 100 gallon tank with the 20 lb propane tank fitting for ease of connecting. The regulator on my tank now is a low pressure regulator (< 1 PSIG). The only thing I can think to do is to cut the high pressure 1/4" tubing between the regulator and shut off valve on the 100 gallon tank and install a T going to a shut off valve and from there piped to my turkey fryer location where I'd have another shut off valve followed by the POL ACME thread fitting you find on the smaller propane tanks. This is a shuttoff as well should the male end on the fryer not be screwed in.

I have the POL fitting so I'd just have to pick up the other parts.

I wasn't sure if there was an issue doing this. I'd like to know if and what other folks have done.

If I can do this then I'll definitely use enough propane to keep from paying that $60/yr charge for the tank since I don't use enough.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 02:55 AM   #2
brewingkitty
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Land of the Free
Posts: 578
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


keep in mind the reg on the tank will most likely be ~14psi. my house tank is anyways.. i use a 200K btu burner from a commercial boiler converted to lp. use it with a standard 1/2" flex line in place of my dryer. i hear you on the tank fees. i get "reg fees, delivery fees" added on each fill, but if i fill once per 12 months no tank rental.
__________________
.
"Back when I was in the pen, I used to beat my meat..."

"Damn ye, yellow-bellied sapsuckers; I'm a better man than all of ye milksops put together" - Blackbeard

"...I have really good sex moves; that I learned in China. I'm a sexual tiger; and feed on va-gine-a." - Jon Lajoie

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 06:18 AM   #3
okgasdude
Recipes 
 
Feb 2010
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Posts: 94
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts


I am a service man in Oklahoma. I'm not sure what the rules are in VA, but you might want to start there. I know here things have to be a certain way, or we can't fill the tank. Now for my opinion...Get yourself a POL tee, and a high pressure regulator from your propane company. Unhook the regulator from the tank and install the tee. Install the two regs into the tee, run your piping to where you want it, install a shutoff valve, and your adjustable regulator and hose. Might want to put a shutoff after the regulator on the tank just In case. Personally I would run 1/2" black pipe, but depending on how far you are running the line you could prob. use 1/2" refrigeration copper. Hope this helps.

Edit: forgot to mention that the high pressure regulator is 10psi set from the factory.


 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 12:02 PM   #4
interplexr
Recipes 
 
Feb 2010
Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 72
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


Would the 10 PSIG regulator allow my turkey fryer 5 PSIG regulator to work? I like the idea of running lower pressure from the tank vs the full operating pressure.

I'll give the propane company a call and see if they can do it. I'd like to just do it but I have a feeling they won't fill my tank if I do like you said.

Thanks!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 01:20 AM   #5
mmurray
Recipes 
 
Nov 2009
Internet
Posts: 327
Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts


I had Blossman stub out a gas feed to my back patio. All I did was buy a 10' high pressure hose from them and I screw it on the stub out and hooked it to my BBQ grill. Never have to fill tanks for grilling anymore!

I have asked the guys down at Blossman about doing what you are talking about for burners for boiling seafood, fryers, and to hook to a brutus set up and they told me to install a manifold (can be purchased from them) and hook one lead to the BBQ Grill and the other to a recesed outlet with a shut off and quick disconect Which they sell as well. It looks similar to below:
__________________
“God bless Homebrewing Beer. There are many things a man can do with his time. And this, is better than those things.”

Gulf Coast Brewers League

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 05:13 PM   #6
okgasdude
Recipes 
 
Feb 2010
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Posts: 94
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by interplexr View Post
Would the 10 PSIG regulator allow my turkey fryer 5 PSIG regulator to work? I like the idea of running lower pressure from the tank vs the full operating pressure.

I'll give the propane company a call and see if they can do it. I'd like to just do it but I have a feeling they won't fill my tank if I do like you said.

Thanks!
You shouldn't have any problems with the 10 psi reg and your fryer. As far as you vs. them doing the work, here in OK you can do your own work but we will have to do a leak test before the next fill.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 05:16 PM   #7
okgasdude
Recipes 
 
Feb 2010
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Posts: 94
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by mmurray View Post
I had Blossman stub out a gas feed to my back patio. All I did was buy a 10' high pressure hose from them and I screw it on the stub out and hooked it to my BBQ grill. Never have to fill tanks for grilling anymore!

I have asked the guys down at Blossman about doing what you are talking about for burners for boiling seafood, fryers, and to hook to a brutus set up and they told me to install a manifold (can be purchased from them) and hook one lead to the BBQ Grill and the other to a recesed outlet with a shut off and quick disconect Which they sell as well. It looks similar to below:
The feed to your patio is high pressure? Did they put a high pressure reg on the tank?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 07:59 PM   #8
mmurray
Recipes 
 
Nov 2009
Internet
Posts: 327
Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts


Not 100% sure. There is a regulator on the tank and another right before it goes into my house. From that point the pressure feeding my Hot water heater, stove and grill are all the same.

On my grill I just hooked the hose to the 4 burner manifold. no other regulator is being used. What ever the pressure is to my house is what I'm cooking with on the grill.
__________________
“God bless Homebrewing Beer. There are many things a man can do with his time. And this, is better than those things.”

Gulf Coast Brewers League

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
turkey fryer / propane question... jiggs_casey General Beer Discussion 4 02-24-2011 05:40 AM
Using an older turkey fryer with ancient tank and regulator bmckee56 Equipment/Sanitation 1 05-01-2010 10:43 AM
Turkey Fryer and propane Chugger Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 10 11-08-2009 04:04 AM
Is a Turkey Fryer propane burner enough? Nugu Equipment/Sanitation 11 05-16-2009 02:08 PM
Turkey fryer hours on tank... tireater Equipment/Sanitation 1 04-27-2009 07:59 PM


Forum Jump