Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Orange Vanilla Wheat

Old 05-25-2010, 05:44 PM   #1
scottland
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 146 Times on 108 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default Orange Vanilla Wheat

Ok, I'm very new to brewing, and could use a little help here forumlating a recipe.

There is a microbrew here in Phoenix called Papago brewery that makes a brew called Orange Blossom. It's a sweet wheat beer with very noticeable orange and vanilla flavors.

I'd love to make something similar to this, but I'm not sure about the vanilla and orange.

I read someone suggested brewing a light wheat beer, and adding a cup of vanilla and mandarin orange Torani syrup. That didn't sound like a good idea with all the extra sugar from the Torani, so I figured I would post the question here.

The beer is definitely sweeter than your average wheat, so maybe the syrup isnt' a bad idea. If I were to add in Torani, when would be the right time? At Flameout, in the secondary, right at bottling?

Old 05-25-2010, 06:48 PM   #2
JLem
Recipes 

Liked 176 Times on 153 Posts
Likes Given: 6

The sugars in the Torani will be fermented by the yeast and will not leave any residual sweetness (unless it contains unfermentable sugars). Perhaps you could add some light crystal malt to give you some sweetness?

For the orange flavor I would go with freshly zested orange peel late in the boil (and/or in secondary). Not knowing the beer, I'd start with an ounce and then add from there.

Vanilla can be added in whole bean form in the secondary. Actually, I'd soak both the vanilla bean and orange zest in some vodka for a couple of days and then dump the whole thing into the secondary.

My Beer Cellar

Old 05-25-2010, 06:57 PM   #3
jgarretson
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts

Are you suggesting to soak the peel and vanilla in vodka to essentially sanitize them?