Off taste hefe, New brewer needs help! - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Off taste hefe, New brewer needs help!

Old 05-24-2010, 10:28 AM   #1
Green_Man
Recipes 

May 2010
Wisconsin

I just tried my bottle first bottle of a partial mash hefeweizen that I brewed and it has a real sweet bubblegum with little or no bannana or cloves taste. This is my first time brewing a hefeweizen and it does not really taste like any hefeweizens I have had. It is way too sweet. The beer seems to be fully or close to fully carbonated. I used Wyeast Bavarian wheat 3638 strain. The yeast took about 3 days to start going but once it started it seemed to ferment well. I waited about 16 days after fermentation began and I was seeing bubbles in my blow off tube every 2 minutes or so. The batch of beer does not seem to be infected. I did not take any gravity readings. Does anyone have any suggestions. I have been looking around and I can't find anyone else who seems to have this problem with a hefe. It was only bottled about 2 weeks ago. Should I let it age or store my bottles at a warmer temperature. It is currently sitting in my basement which is about 65 degrees Fahrenheit. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Old 05-24-2010, 10:30 AM   #2
wcarter1227

Recipes 

Jun 2009
Austintown,OHIO
Liked 12 Times on 6 Posts

id let it go another 2 weeks at room temp and then try it again. 2 weeks in the bottle is too short of a time to judge a beer, even a hefe.
bottled:BM's Blue Balls Belgian Wit
15 Minute Cascade Pale Ale
DryHopped Cream of 3 Crops
http://hopville.com/brewer/wcarter1227

Old 05-24-2010, 12:21 PM   #3
HotbreakHotel
Recipes 

Nov 2007
Grand Rapids, MI
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

I made a hefe a while back with 3638, and I thought it was too candy/bubblegummy. I think 3068 is better.

Old 05-24-2010, 12:25 PM   #4
Newton
Recipes 

Mar 2010
Minnesota
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts