Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > Initial fermentation question

Old 08-03-2005, 01:55 PM   #1
Vgonman
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Initial fermentation question

Hello,

This is my first attempt at making wine, but i have successfully made beer for a year now, many batches! Well, I am making crabapple wine. I followed directions completely, and of course everything was sanitized. I have the must in a 5 gallon beer fermenter with an air lock on it. When i take the lid off to stir the must, it is really sizzling in there...........fruit looks fine, when i stir it it really starts sizzling even more. If you dare to put your head in the bucket and take a whiff, it is sort of an oxygen dpleted area...does not smell bad, really, but not sweet or apple odor at all. Should i be alarmed or is this normal for this first week before i siphon off into another container and leave the fruit behind?

Old 08-03-2005, 03:17 PM   #2
homebrewer_99

Recipes 

Liked 99 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I've never made wine, mead, yes, wine, no.

As for your description, I'd leave it alone for another week or so.

As for sweetness...crabapples don't have any that I am aware of. I have 6 crabapple trees in my yard. I just purchased the house and they were there already.

Old 08-03-2005, 08:16 PM   #3
Vgonman
Recipes 

You are correct, crab apples are not sweet, but i added some sugar and granny smith's (per the recipe) and that should have sweetened it up a bit..............

Old 08-04-2005, 01:02 AM   #4
AlaskaAl(e)
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I've never made wine either but, unless I'm mistaken, you're okay. I don't imagine it would smell any different than when I open my lager chest. I fling it open and it about takes the air out of my lungs.

Old 08-04-2005, 02:54 AM   #5
homebrewer_99

Recipes 

Liked 99 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 1