anyone using a pressure cooker "autoclave"? - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > anyone using a pressure cooker "autoclave"?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2010, 10:01 AM   #1
killian
Recipes 
 
Apr 2007
western/central new york
Posts: 1,497
Liked 14 Times on 14 Posts



If so can you walk me through the process.
How do I know what can be autoclaved?
Have you ever used it with a propane burner?
__________________
damn I gotta brew something

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 12:10 PM   #2
Pat_13
Recipes 
 
Jan 2009
Up in the hills of WV
Posts: 59

Depends on your type, I fill mine to above the water line, put the contents in and seal it up, put 15 lbs of weight on it and start to heat it up until it starts the weight rocking, lower heat and wait 10 minutes, remove from heat, and wait till presure valve releases to open.

I'm not sure but glass, metal, and some plastic. If you’re not sure ask I'm sure someone has tried it before.

No, mine has a warning not to use with propane burner.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 08:27 AM   #3
killian
Recipes 
 
Apr 2007
western/central new york
Posts: 1,497
Liked 14 Times on 14 Posts


So if I shouldn't use propane could I use a 120v hotplate?
__________________
damn I gotta brew something

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 01:17 PM   #4
Pat_13
Recipes 
 
Jan 2009
Up in the hills of WV
Posts: 59

Yea, a hotplate should work, just so you can turn down the heat once you reach pressure so it doesn't build up faster than it can release it.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 03:49 PM   #5

I use propane ALL the time. Heat is heat. Why does it matter if it's fire or electric?
__________________
Mead Lane Brewing
The liver is evil and must be punished

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 10:40 PM   #6
krops13
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
SoCal
Posts: 270
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


IDK why it matters but its DOES My pressure canner says and I quote "DO NOT USE A OUTDOOR PROPANE BURNER. It says it just like that. I think there serious.

When I use mine I do 11-15 pounds for 30 minutes and it works great. I leave my agar out for a week to see if anything grows and it hasn't yet. I use mason jars with aluminum covers to hold what ever I need cleaned. Tubes, Tools, Agar, ETC...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by passedpawn View Post
Rdwhahb&dbad!
Translation: Relax don't worry have a home brew and don't be a ****!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jdecarol View Post
Oh the things I would do to that pint.
California Common Pint


 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 11:27 PM   #7
JNye
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Lansing, IL
Posts: 611
Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts


i use an all american. i use it on propane all the time. sometimes i use it just to heat water. the only thing i sterilize are mason jars/tops for yeast washing.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 03:00 PM   #8
jfkriege
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Bloomington, IN
Posts: 418
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


I use mine on my gas stove. It takes a little longer but works well. I have used it for sterilization and for canning wort for starters.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 03:47 PM   #9
pjj2ba
Look under the recliner
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
pjj2ba's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2006
State College, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,382
Liked 205 Times on 167 Posts


I use a real autoclave. The only thing that I have found to not be autoclavable are plastic racking tubes (I tested a piece of a broken one). I keep meaning to test a White labs yeast vial - I think that will fail. A few things get soft and can become deformed like carboy caps, and many tubings. This is fine as long as they are cooled carefully (no kinks or weight on them). Kegs autoclave just fine!
__________________
On Tap: Doppelbock O'fest, Pale Ale, cider
Kegged and Aging/Lagering: CAP, Ger. Pils, OKZ (std Amer. lager), CZ Pils, Amer. Wheat, Rye IPA, Saison
Secondary:
Primary: Ger Pils, CAP
Brewing soon: Pale lager, Amer. wheat
Recently kicked : (
Pilsner Urquell Master Homebrewer
(1st NYC 2011, 2nd NYC 2012)
P U crowns winners in its inaugural master HB competition

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 04:12 PM   #10
conpewter
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
conpewter's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2007
East Dundee, Illinois
Posts: 5,108
Liked 53 Times on 48 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by pjj2ba View Post
I use a real autoclave. The only thing that I have found to not be autoclavable are plastic racking tubes (I tested a piece of a broken one). I keep meaning to test a White labs yeast vial - I think that will fail. A few things get soft and can become deformed like carboy caps, and many tubings. This is fine as long as they are cooled carefully (no kinks or weight on them). Kegs autoclave just fine!
That sounds like a freaking huge autoclave! Ever autoclave a carboy?
__________________
"People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." - V

Primary: Nothin
Secondary: Shady Lord RIS, Water to Barleywine, Pumpkin wine, burnt mead
Kegged: Crappy infected mild
Bottles: Apfelwein, 999 Barleywine, Oatmeal Stout, Robust Porter, Robust smoked porter, Simcoe Smash

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modify a "Pressure Tank"? ScubaSteve Equipment/Sanitation 0 02-20-2010 04:11 PM
pressure cooker/autoclave... illinibrew04 Equipment/Sanitation 2 01-16-2010 03:17 PM
How long does a corny have to hold pressure to be "good"? jaobrien6 Bottling/Kegging 10 10-23-2009 07:43 PM
Is this an alternative to the pressure cooker for autoclave? schupaul Equipment/Sanitation 14 03-07-2009 05:15 PM
Pressure Relief Valve "Gasket?" Teddi Brewski Bottling/Kegging 5 02-23-2008 06:27 PM


Forum Jump