Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brewing Software > Beersmith is kicking out 2 rounds of batch sparge?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-14-2010, 02:44 AM   #1
dmbnpj
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 536
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Beersmith is kicking out 2 rounds of batch sparge?

I use kegs for brewing and have entered all that information into beersmith. For some reason when I preview brewsheet under the mash it is kicking out 2 rounds of batch sparge. I dont want it to do this. I only do one round of sparging. How can I get it to show me only one sparge?


dmbnpj is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 02:50 AM   #2
shecky
Moderator
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
shecky's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Watertown, CT
Posts: 38,826
Liked 3591 Times on 3466 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Click details in the mash profile, go down to batch sparge options and click 'batch sparge using batches that fill' and 'drain the mash tun before starting to batch sparge.' Leave 'sparge using equal size batches' blank.


shecky is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 02:53 AM   #3
dmbnpj
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 536
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

I tried that and it didnt work. Also, is it relevant that this will be a 10 gallon batch? I was thinking I would still do a single batch sparge?
dmbnpj is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 02:56 AM   #4
IrregularPulse
Hobby Collector
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
IrregularPulse's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 46,714
Liked 3028 Times on 2934 Posts
Likes Given: 149

Default

Or just take your boil volume minus what you extract from your first runnings and sparge once with that amount. Beersmith in my experience has been great to get the process down. but after 2 years I use it for OG estimates and temperature calcs only.
__________________
Tap Room Hobo

I should have stuck to four fingers in Vegas. :o - marubozo's mom
IrregularPulse is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 03:40 AM   #5
DizzyPants
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 203
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Yeah, I don't get that too. The second sparge is like 1.63 gallons and then a bigger one. Doesn't make sense...

~Diz
DizzyPants is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 03:50 AM   #6
stevedasleeve
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Betelgeuse
Posts: 960
Liked 57 Times on 51 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Maybe read the manual and perhaps a book on brewing ? Might help.
stevedasleeve is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 12:20 PM   #7
shecky
Moderator
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
shecky's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Watertown, CT
Posts: 38,826
Liked 3591 Times on 3466 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmbnpj View Post
I tried that and it didnt work. Also, is it relevant that this will be a 10 gallon batch? I was thinking I would still do a single batch sparge?
Hmm, worked for me. I don't think batch size matters. Just do what IP suggested.
shecky is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 12:57 PM   #8
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Revvy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Detroitish" Michigan
Posts: 40,817
Liked 2888 Times on 1702 Posts
Likes Given: 3517

Default

Close out beersmith after you make the changes and re-open it and see if it takes the changes. I had the same issues with a beer on my "work" copy in my office when I transferend a recipe I created on my home copy to it. I think I did it a couple times without the settings changed, then shut it down and re-opened it and it was fine...or toggle between different views like classic brewsheet and the other options. It takes awhile to get it to take but it does.
__________________
Like my snazzy new avatar? Get Sons of Zymurgy swag, here, and brew with the best.

Revvy's one of the cool reverends. He has a Harley and a t-shirt that says on the back "If you can read this, the bitch was Raptured. - Madman

I gotta tell ya, just between us girls, that Revvy is HOT. Very tall, gorgeous grey hair and a terrific smile. He's very good looking in person, with a charismatic personality... he drives like a ****ing maniac! - YooperBrew
Revvy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 03:03 PM   #9
mariojr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 312
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 169

Default

The first sparge is just an addition of water to mash to make it equal the second sparge. So technically you are still doing only one sparge in the addition to the original draining of your tun.


__________________
-----

Mario


A Flower?
mariojr is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beersmith Batch Sparge Questions DPB Brewing Software 1 02-10-2010 08:06 PM
BrewSmith and batch sparge rounds pretzelb Brewing Software 3 12-22-2009 05:30 PM
Help with batch sparge settings on beersmith. emgesp1 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 20 10-22-2009 05:01 AM
Beersmith- How do I Set it Up for a Batch Sparge? RonRock Brewing Software 6 10-08-2009 01:46 AM
Beersmith batch sparge question??? Schnitzengiggle Brewing Software 2 08-20-2009 04:49 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS