Modular Electric Brewery - Page 3 - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Modular Electric Brewery

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-14-2010, 06:31 PM   #21
ScubaSteve
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2007
New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,677
Liked 83 Times on 57 Posts


Nice...I like how you planned for small and large batches all in the same rig. I may very well design my single vessel rig that way, simply swapping out the pot and plugging in the element in to the appropriate receptacle.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 06:35 PM   #22
ScubaSteve
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2007
New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,677
Liked 83 Times on 57 Posts


I wonder, does your PID switch 2 outputs? It is obviously switching relays for your 2 110v elements.....but it will also need to switch 2 for your 220v element, right?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 07:15 PM   #23
jfkriege
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Bloomington, IN
Posts: 418
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


I thought about what I could carry over between two systems and this is what happened. Pumps, control box, valves (the only valves are on the outlet of the pumps), they all carry over. All that changes out are the tanks, elements, hose, and the P, I, and D values.

The PID switches 2 SSRs in parallel.

The output of SSR 1 goes to the phase A hot leg of the 240V outlet, and the hot leg of 120V element 1. The output of SSR 2 goes to the phase B hot leg of the 240V outlet, and the hot leg of 120V element 2. I pick which I am using by what I plug in.

It is probably not the best way to do it, but I am the only one that uses it, and for me it is fine.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 10:15 PM   #24
Mose
 
Mose's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2010
VA
Posts: 297
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


I am continually discovering that I am missing a piece of the puzzle.

At the risk of embarassing myself with this question, do you need two SSR's to run a 220v element? I have a 40amp with sink on the way, but am starting to think I need to order a second. Thanks.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 10:33 PM   #25
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_ADMIN.png
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2009
☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 26,122
Liked 6824 Times on 4035 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mose View Post
I am continually discovering that I am missing a piece of the puzzle.

At the risk of embarassing myself with this question, do you need two SSR's to run a 220v element? I have a 40amp with sink on the way, but am starting to think I need to order a second. Thanks.
90% will say yes, because 220V has 2 hot legs. That 90% wants to ensure that, even though current has been interrupted to the element, there is no live voltage connected.

The other 10% doesn't worry about the element still being "live": the current is off, and that is enough.

I'm in the 90%. I'd say for an extra $20 you turn the whole thing off.

BTW, there are DSSR's (dual SSR's) that have two solid state relays in one standard SSR pkg. This is a sweet setup. I have 2 of these DSSRs in my control box. They can be a bit pricey, and they are not part of the cheap fare available on ebay (actually, that is where I bought mine, but it wasn't one of those "direct from Hong Kong" specials).
__________________
- Andrew

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 10:50 PM   #26
pickles
 
pickles's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Columbus
Posts: 2,007
Liked 49 Times on 41 Posts


Awesome project! What is that jumbo distribution block called and where can I find one?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 01:43 AM   #27
jkarp
 
jkarp's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2008
Elizabeth, CO
Posts: 2,112
Liked 45 Times on 35 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by passedpawn View Post
90% will say yes, because 220V has 2 hot legs. That 90% wants to ensure that, even though current has been interrupted to the element, there is no live voltage connected.

The other 10% doesn't worry about the element still being "live": the current is off, and that is enough.
I guess I'm in the 10%. You should never 100% trust SSRs are killing the current anyway. When they fail, they normally fail closed. Also note there will always be voltage. SSRs switch current, not voltage.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 05:13 AM   #28
jfkriege
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Bloomington, IN
Posts: 418
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by pickles View Post
Awesome project! What is that jumbo distribution block called and where can I find one?
It is from automation direct:
http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/...Series)/PB3063

They are certainly beefy. It is rated for 310 amps, which is perhaps a bit overkill.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 05:15 AM   #29
jfkriege
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Bloomington, IN
Posts: 418
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


For the extra $15 I wanted to put in another SSR. It is peace of mind, and in my case was required to run the two 120V elements.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 12:18 AM   #30
willynilly
Registered User
Recipes 
 
Feb 2010
Avon
Posts: 728
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts


I think I have to put an obligatory post in here friend.

#1. Thanks for buying half of my homebrew gear, I know it has found a good home.

#2. Thanks for bringing the "mini brew" up so that I could see it in person, very out of the box little rig and worthy of compliment.

Nice build friend, looking forward to seeing you soon, probably in Bloomington when I head down to set up the new rig?

Thanks for always being there to bounce ideas off of, I appreciate your friendship!

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Brewtalizer Electric Brewery Amity Brew Stands 11 05-17-2010 04:07 AM
Electric Brewery for SALE!! kxx For Sale 14 04-08-2010 07:27 PM
My electric brewery build Suicided1954 Brew Stands 21 03-10-2010 04:06 AM
My electric brewery is functional! Addicted Brew Stands 35 03-02-2010 04:33 PM
electric brewery help squidtpd Bottling/Kegging 3 03-02-2010 01:16 AM


Forum Jump