Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Modular Electric Brewery
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-14-2010, 06:31 PM   #21
ScubaSteve
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,692
Liked 71 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Nice...I like how you planned for small and large batches all in the same rig. I may very well design my single vessel rig that way, simply swapping out the pot and plugging in the element in to the appropriate receptacle.


ScubaSteve is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 06:35 PM   #22
ScubaSteve
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,692
Liked 71 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

I wonder, does your PID switch 2 outputs? It is obviously switching relays for your 2 110v elements.....but it will also need to switch 2 for your 220v element, right?


ScubaSteve is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 07:15 PM   #23
jfkriege
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 419
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I thought about what I could carry over between two systems and this is what happened. Pumps, control box, valves (the only valves are on the outlet of the pumps), they all carry over. All that changes out are the tanks, elements, hose, and the P, I, and D values.

The PID switches 2 SSRs in parallel.

The output of SSR 1 goes to the phase A hot leg of the 240V outlet, and the hot leg of 120V element 1. The output of SSR 2 goes to the phase B hot leg of the 240V outlet, and the hot leg of 120V element 2. I pick which I am using by what I plug in.

It is probably not the best way to do it, but I am the only one that uses it, and for me it is fine.
jfkriege is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 10:15 PM   #24
Mose
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 303
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I am continually discovering that I am missing a piece of the puzzle.

At the risk of embarassing myself with this question, do you need two SSR's to run a 220v element? I have a 40amp with sink on the way, but am starting to think I need to order a second. Thanks.
Mose is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 10:33 PM   #25
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 21,087
Liked 4296 Times on 2620 Posts
Likes Given: 3694

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mose View Post
I am continually discovering that I am missing a piece of the puzzle.

At the risk of embarassing myself with this question, do you need two SSR's to run a 220v element? I have a 40amp with sink on the way, but am starting to think I need to order a second. Thanks.
90% will say yes, because 220V has 2 hot legs. That 90% wants to ensure that, even though current has been interrupted to the element, there is no live voltage connected.

The other 10% doesn't worry about the element still being "live": the current is off, and that is enough.

I'm in the 90%. I'd say for an extra $20 you turn the whole thing off.

BTW, there are DSSR's (dual SSR's) that have two solid state relays in one standard SSR pkg. This is a sweet setup. I have 2 of these DSSRs in my control box. They can be a bit pricey, and they are not part of the cheap fare available on ebay (actually, that is where I bought mine, but it wasn't one of those "direct from Hong Kong" specials).
__________________
- Andrew
passedpawn is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 10:50 PM   #26
pickles
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
pickles's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Columbus
Posts: 2,014
Liked 49 Times on 41 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default

Awesome project! What is that jumbo distribution block called and where can I find one?
pickles is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 01:43 AM   #27
jkarp
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Elizabeth, CO
Posts: 2,106
Liked 37 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by passedpawn View Post
90% will say yes, because 220V has 2 hot legs. That 90% wants to ensure that, even though current has been interrupted to the element, there is no live voltage connected.

The other 10% doesn't worry about the element still being "live": the current is off, and that is enough.
I guess I'm in the 10%. You should never 100% trust SSRs are killing the current anyway. When they fail, they normally fail closed. Also note there will always be voltage. SSRs switch current, not voltage.
jkarp is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 05:13 AM   #28
jfkriege
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 419
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pickles View Post
Awesome project! What is that jumbo distribution block called and where can I find one?
It is from automation direct:
http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/...Series)/PB3063

They are certainly beefy. It is rated for 310 amps, which is perhaps a bit overkill.
jfkriege is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 05:15 AM   #29
jfkriege
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 419
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

For the extra $15 I wanted to put in another SSR. It is peace of mind, and in my case was required to run the two 120V elements.
jfkriege is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 12:18 AM   #30
willynilly
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Avon
Posts: 728
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

I think I have to put an obligatory post in here friend.

#1. Thanks for buying half of my homebrew gear, I know it has found a good home.

#2. Thanks for bringing the "mini brew" up so that I could see it in person, very out of the box little rig and worthy of compliment.

Nice build friend, looking forward to seeing you soon, probably in Bloomington when I head down to set up the new rig?

Thanks for always being there to bounce ideas off of, I appreciate your friendship!


willynilly is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Brewtalizer Electric Brewery Amity Brew Stands 11 05-17-2010 04:07 AM
For Sale - Electric Brewery for SALE!! kxx For Sale 14 04-08-2010 07:27 PM
My electric brewery build Suicided1954 Brew Stands 21 03-10-2010 03:06 AM
My electric brewery is functional! Addicted Brew Stands 35 03-02-2010 03:33 PM
electric brewery help squidtpd Bottling/Kegging 3 03-02-2010 12:16 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS