Spike Brewing Giveaway - New v3 Kettle

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Single Tier Brew Stand for 5 Gallons
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-20-2010, 01:15 AM   #1
browjaso62
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11
Default Single Tier Brew Stand for 5 Gallons

I know there is a lot of discussion about batch size. I fall into the 5-gallon camp because I like to brew more than I like to drink. I also like variety. There are tons of threads about people's brutus 10 builds but hardly any for 5 gallon systems. I am starting the design of a brutus of my own but want to make it a 5 gallon system. Is there any reason a single tier system will not work for 5 gallon batches? All of the premade systems I see out there are 3-tier gravity setups.

Jason


browjaso62 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 01:18 AM   #2
willynilly
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Avon
Posts: 727
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by browjaso62 View Post
I know there is a lot of discussion about batch size. I fall into the 5-gallon camp because I like to brew more than I like to drink. I also like variety. There are tons of threads about people's brutus 10 builds but hardly any for 5 gallon systems. I am starting the design of a brutus of my own but want to make it a 5 gallon system. Is there any reason a single tier system will not work for 5 gallon batches? All of the premade systems I see out there are 3-tier gravity setups.

Jason
You can brew 5 gallon batches on a Brutus too


willynilly is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 03:13 AM   #3
browjaso62
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11
Default

That is good to know. I have alot of ideas for what I want to do and was going to be bummed if there was a fundamental problem using a single tier pump system. Right now I am thinking of using 10 gallon Blichmanns so I will need to slightly modify the brutus stand setup so they will be supported properly. I was going to get 15 gallon pots so I could do 10 gallons but I don't see that happening any time soon and I think the smaller pots will work better for 5 gallon batches.
browjaso62 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 04:16 AM   #4
diatonic
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 721
Liked 12 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

I have a brutus-like system with keggles, and it is really easy to do 5 gallon batches on it. I did 2 a week ago. You need a fairly large MLT anyhow for high-gravity beers. Boiling 7.2 gallons for a 5 gallon batch is still a decent sized boil. It's nice to be able to do 10 gallon batches if you have to brew for a party or something... or a beer you like to always have on tap.
__________________
.:diatonic:.
1 - Dirty Hippie Hefe (4/17/2015) - Saison Brett (3/21/2014)
2 - Saison inspired mead (6/27/2014) - Sack mead (7/26/2014)
Kegged - Under Pressure Pale Ale (4/4/2015) - Dopplebock (1/22/2015) - Black Widow Kolsch (1/31/2015) - Pious New World (2/6/2015)
My brew rig is pretty much done :) You should follow me on Twitter - My Brew Logs
diatonic is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 06:40 AM   #5
tannnick
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 101
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

go with 15 gal blichmanns. you can do 5 gal no prob, but if you ever wanna do more, you can. if your are gonna build a system, build 10 capacity worth. you can always do 5 gal. put your therm lower and dont burn your flame so hot. as a brewer, you will always wanna go bigger.
__________________
Cherry Street Brewing Cooperative
www.facebook.com/TannersVickery
tannnick is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 04:19 PM   #6
browjaso62
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11
Default

I have been going back and fourth between 10 and 15 gallon pots. I like the idea of being able to do a 10 gallon batch but since I primarily am going with 5's I don't want to sacrifice anything for future capacity (besides a little more $ for the pots). Will the grain bed height still be high enough in a 15 gallon pot for stable recirculation and sparging. I am worried that the mash is going to end up short and fat and more prone to being stuck.


browjaso62 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wood Single tier brew stand brewluver Brew Stands 13 07-29-2010 04:27 PM
Another Single Tier brew stand build. johnnyo1977 Brew Stands 13 04-01-2010 09:18 PM
2 tier or single tier stand Andysam Equipment/Sanitation 11 03-04-2010 07:03 AM
My Rig - Single Tier Multi Stand zosojohnny Brew Stands 2 02-26-2009 11:20 PM
Single tier stand Sparging?? kickflip_mj Equipment/Sanitation 2 02-20-2008 07:46 AM


Forum Jump