fermenter with built-in hydrometer - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > fermenter with built-in hydrometer

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-07-2010, 07:09 PM   #1
NJames
Recipes 
 
May 2009
Covington, OH
Posts: 10


Has anyone tried building a fermentor pail with a built-in hydrometer?

I was thinking about a pail with a tube fixed to the outside which would fill with beer to the level the pail is filled. I have seen tubes like this on other opaque containers to indicate how full it is. In this case, we would float a hydrometer inside the tube. So we could see at a glance what the gravity of the beer is. No opening the bucket, no taking a sample.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 07:18 PM   #2
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Cary, NC
Posts: 10,987
Liked 101 Times on 89 Posts


I've never seen it, but I think I know a couple of reasons why.

You'll have to cap that tube with it's own airlock or at least have a hose that comes off the top and goes back into the main fermenter to let the gas out and protect the beer from the environment.

The other (bigger) problem is that when your beer kraeusens, that tube will also get kraeusen in it, and it'll gunk up your hydro andtube and make the reading unreliable.

EDIT: that last comment is based partly on personal experience. I put a hydro into a carboy one time long ago with the same intention in mind... constant checking of gravity without opening the fermenter or taking a sample. The thing was gummed up, didn't float right, and I couldn't see the scale because of the crud stuck to it.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 07:27 PM   #3
RegionalChaos
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
Drain, OR
Posts: 605
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts


Seems like an idea worth exploring if you ask me. I gotta believe there is a way to do it. I think the top of the tube would need to feed back into the fermentor. An airlock would not let the wort drain out of the tube. I would worry about the circulation through the tube too.. would it be an accurate sample, etc.. I can see that the kraeusen would be a hurdle to overcome..
__________________
How I brew: Stir plate starters, Extract, Full boil in a Keggle, 10 gallon batches.
Brewing upgrades in progress: temp controlled ferment, stir plate re-work, building mash tun, milling station

Planned House Ales: an Amber, an IPA, a dark IPA, a Mango Ale, a blueberry oatmeal stout, a dry Irish stout, a honey wheat, Apfelwien

What kind of R-Value does your ferm chamber need? - http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/what...hamber-190459/

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 07:29 PM   #4
Mischief_Brewing
 
Mischief_Brewing's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2010
Montpelier, VT
Posts: 1,261
Liked 16 Times on 14 Posts


On top of what Walker said, could you imagine trying to clean the leftover kraeusen out of a site glass?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 07:33 PM   #5
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Cary, NC
Posts: 10,987
Liked 101 Times on 89 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by drat View Post
On top of what Walker said, could you imagine trying to clean the leftover kraeusen out of a site glass?
I think this one would be large enough in diameter to slide a bottle brush into and clean easily. It's going to be at least as wide as a hydro sample tube, right?

Devil's Advocate: sell your hydro and sample tube. Add that money to the money you would have spent to make this built-in sample tube, and then buy a $30 refractometer.... you could remove the airlock and stick a straw in through the hole to get the couple drops you need for a reading.

You have to do some math to check anything other than OG with a refractometer (I think...).
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 07:43 PM   #6
RegionalChaos
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
Drain, OR
Posts: 605
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts


Here is more beer's explanation of how to use a refractometer. I've wondered about this a bunch myself. Once alcohol is present, it throws off the readings.. more beer has a spread sheet to use to adjust it.

__________________
How I brew: Stir plate starters, Extract, Full boil in a Keggle, 10 gallon batches.
Brewing upgrades in progress: temp controlled ferment, stir plate re-work, building mash tun, milling station

Planned House Ales: an Amber, an IPA, a dark IPA, a Mango Ale, a blueberry oatmeal stout, a dry Irish stout, a honey wheat, Apfelwien

What kind of R-Value does your ferm chamber need? - http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/what...hamber-190459/

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 07:45 PM   #7
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Cary, NC
Posts: 10,987
Liked 101 Times on 89 Posts


Yeah.. There are some online calculators for it, and I think ProMash has a calculator built into it.

I personally don't even check anything other than OG. I want to see what my all-grain efficiency is, but when the beer is done fermenting (based mostly on me just waiting for several weeks), I just keg it, carb it, and drink it.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 07:47 PM   #8
drez77
Recipes 
 
Jan 2007
Palmer MA
Posts: 410
Liked 16 Times on 14 Posts


I just see it as another possibility for infection. I use the more beer spreedsheet and a refractometer. But again, I usualy let my beers go 2 weeks so I know they are done and will take a reading as I keg.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 07:56 PM   #9
brewagentjay
 
brewagentjay's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2010
Alabama
Posts: 1,157
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


I say go for it........I could see this working if you drilled a hole say 1/3 way up from bottom bucket or so perhaps 1/4 way up and had the tube come to same height as bucker from there attached to the bucket on a clip of some sort. with it's own stopper and airlock system, you'll only have to worry about air to beer so the air lock will stop that shouldn't have much kraeusen since smaller sample and it's feed way below surface. sample would be a little off perhaps but not much. I could see it working.
__________________
Teufel Hunden Brewing Company

Primary - Apfelwein v2, JChrapewein, Light Scottish Ale, SW 420 v2, Devil Dog Ale Version 2
Secondary - OxiClean
Just Bottled - Jay's Irish Stout
On Deck - The Orginal Fat Tire
Planning - "Hail to the Chief -IIPA", "The Straw Berry Blonde"
NTBA - Wicked Ale

Semper Fi

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 07:56 PM   #10
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
May 2009
Los Angeles
Posts: 8,191
Liked 484 Times on 392 Posts


I typically don't use a hydrometer except before fermentation starts, to check OG, and when racking to another vessel.

If you really want to check gravity with a hydrometer mid-fermentation, you could install a side port like on a conical Or, just get a conical with a side port.


The only times that I'm really interested in doing so would be when I'm trying to duplicate some of more complex brewing processes used for, say, a commercial saison where they carefully control temperature depending upon the amount of attenuation.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to most safely get a hydrometer reading in plastic fermenter timsch Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 16 01-08-2013 09:38 PM
taking wort out of fermenter to check hydrometer reading Mogref Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 14 04-28-2011 10:10 PM
Accuracy of Hydrometer reading inside Fermenter ohill1981 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 5 01-07-2009 07:13 AM
place hydrometer in fermenter vs. taking a sample earlytimes Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 25 03-03-2008 01:16 AM
Ever built a still? Ó Flannagáin Drunken Ramblings and Mindless Mumbling 59 02-03-2007 03:35 PM


Forum Jump