I have some flakes of agar agar I bought from the health food store on a whim a while ago. Right now, I'm making a stout, so clarity is not so big right now, but in the future I know I'll be making lighter beers. Some of my friends are vegetarians, so I don't want to use gelatin for assisted clearing, and I don't feel like buying Irish moss if I already have something that would work.
Since agar agar is loaded with carrageenan, can I use it?
Failing that, I can always use it to make apple mock-caviar
PS: Yes I know the gelatin drops into the trub and doesn't make it into the beer, but that's irrelevant to most vegetarians. Dead animals were still used to make the final product, so it's still morally bad to them.