Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Summer Time

Old 03-21-2010, 03:54 AM   #1
BigErn
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Summer Time

Im sure this should be put into the recipie category but Im still new to brewing so hopefully if I put it here the awnser will automaticaly be dumbed down for me :-P.

I want to surprise my girlfriend with a clone of her favorite beer. Which is Leinenkugel's Summer Shanty. Its weiss beer with Lemonade but I have no clue as how to make it. Is the lemonade added after the normal beer is made? Is it somehow added to the Secondary or in the bottles?

Can anyone point me in the right direction to a recipe? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Old 03-21-2010, 07:45 AM   #2
BigErn
Recipes 

I guess question two would be what exactly is a weiss beer. Isnt that just a wheat beer?

Old 03-21-2010, 09:08 AM   #3
JiveTurkey
Recipes 

Location: Corvallis (Heart of the [Willamette] Valley), Oregon
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigErn View Post
I guess question two would be what exactly is a weiss beer. Isnt that just a wheat beer?
It's a German wheat: http://www.bjcp.org/styles04/Category15.php#style15A
Aging for 1 Year: #1 LHBS Standard (Dry) Stout
In bottles: #2 Honing Wit (Belgian Wit Bier w/honey); #3 Be Hoppy, Not Bitter ("Oregon" Pale Ale: APA using Oregon-inspired ingredients and lots of late-addition/dry-hops); #4 American Red-Head (Irish Red made from American ingredients); #5 Student Power Orange Ale (Orange-hued amber ale for a wedding)
Primary: [n/a]
On deck: [Thinking about it]

Old 03-21-2010, 03:30 PM   #4
azscoob
Brewpub coming soon!
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 228 Times on 181 Posts
Likes Given: 213