Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Heatstick design help
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-20-2010, 01:34 AM   #1
ReverseApacheMaster
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 4,887
Liked 234 Times on 194 Posts

Default Heatstick design help

Ok, so I am not very technically inclined. I want to see if my idea makes sense, and more importantly, if I am risking starting a fire.

Following the "heatstick=awesome" thread design, I run into the huge problem that the house I brew in does not have 20A outlets (available for brewing), and I'm not confident in my ability to attempt to mess around with the house wiring.

So, I know from the thread that regular home outlets can handle heating elements up to 1500W at best. I know that won't produce enough to boil -- my goal is really just to help accellerate the boiling in conjunction with the stove.

Ok, enough blabbing. Here's my idea.

Could I run two 1500W heating elements through a surge-protected power strip (obviously plugged into one outlet) without danger and/or risk of fire?


ReverseApacheMaster is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 01:44 AM   #2
willynilly
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Avon
Posts: 728
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Default

You plan to run 25A through a 15A outlet? The breaker will stop you from doing that. You will have 0 watts. Not much danger of fire, when there is no power to the outlet.


willynilly is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 01:47 AM   #3
kmack747
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bad Axe, Michigan
Posts: 157
Default

In short NO. Each element will pull 13 amps. Most household outlets are 15 amps so two elements will be way more than an outlet can handle. Power strips can only handle 15 amps.
kmack747 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 01:50 AM   #4
ReverseApacheMaster
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 4,887
Liked 234 Times on 194 Posts

Default

I said I was technically incompetent. =p

Would I be able to run two separately off of different outlets without risk?
ReverseApacheMaster is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 01:51 AM   #5
willynilly
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Avon
Posts: 728
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReverseApacheMaster View Post
I said I was technically incompetent. =p

Would I be able to run two separately off of different outlets without risk?
12.5A on a 15A circuit, yes, as long as nothing else is running on those circuits
willynilly is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 02:29 AM   #6
DeafSmith
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
DeafSmith's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 1,448
Liked 33 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReverseApacheMaster View Post
Would I be able to run two separately off of different outlets without risk?
Yes, as long as the two outlets are on different breakers.
DeafSmith is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 02:58 AM   #7
Cliff897
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 468
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReverseApacheMaster View Post
Would I be able to run two separately off of different outlets without risk?
No risk? That all depends, but yes: you can get 220 VAC from two separate circuits. They need to be on different breakers so that might possibly mean you gotta run a line from another room.
Smart money would be to figure out which breakers control which outlets. Find two near your brew station and use them


I've run 220 motors that way for years and years.
Cliff897 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 03:00 AM   #8
willynilly
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Avon
Posts: 728
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Default

He isnt looking for 220VAC...

He is running a 120VAC 1500W element.
willynilly is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 06:54 AM   #9
wilserbrewer
BIAB Expert Tailor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
 
wilserbrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Jersey Shore, Jersey
Posts: 8,284
Liked 859 Times on 684 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Default

Two 1500w elements require two separate 15A circuits (ok, outlets on seperate circuits). You certainly can't run two elements off a little "power strip".
wilserbrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 04:00 PM   #10
Marsdude
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fort Collins, CO, Colorado
Posts: 479
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReverseApacheMaster View Post
I said I was technically incompetent. =p

Would I be able to run two separately off of different outlets without risk?
I agree with willynilly that you could use two different outlets as long as they are on separate breakers. This could prove to be difficult if you live in an older home. All of your kitchen outlets could be on the same circuit. A newer, however, home should have two separate circuits, one feeding half of your outlets and one feeding the other half.



Marsdude is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heatstick = awesome! BackBayBrewing Brew Stands 580 09-07-2014 05:05 AM
Double Heatstick? Cpt_Kirks Brew Stands 4 01-06-2011 02:30 PM
Heatstick First Use lieb2101 Brew Stands 2 03-01-2010 07:18 PM
For Sale - wanted: heatstick bkov For Sale 3 10-23-2009 01:59 AM
Looking for heatstick(s) VTBrewer Brew Stands 44 02-27-2009 02:30 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS