I shouldn't have tasted my hydrometer sample

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrookdaleBrew

Reaction score
I started brewing my first 5 gallon batch after 2 Mr. Beer batches about a week ago. I tasted the sample after taking my OG reading, but at that time it had a bunch of yeast and hops in suspension, so it was nothing to write home about.

Yesterday I took an SG reading and then drank the sample and it was delicious. It's a porter, so obviously I'd like to get a little bit of age on it before I go crazy, but leaving it in primary for the next 2 weeks is going to be tough now that I've seen what a decent home brew can taste like.

I've got another fermenting bucket on the way so I can keep the pipeline going and hopefully keep my mind off of my porter, I just hope I can hold out until it gets here. I know if it's that good after a week in primary, it is going to be amazing after a few months in the bottle.

What you tasted was nothing. It's still green. Give it the time it needs and you'll wonder why you thought THAT was so good! Barring infection, it should only get better from where it is now.

Haha, that's funny. I'm actually going to test my Fat Tire Ale tonight and taste it. I think it's finally done fermenting.
Then to wait 2 - 3 more weeks will be painful. I have a Guiness clone that I'll start on next. So I'll just have to go buy some beer at BevMo to quench my thirst until the piepline is moving along :mug:

When I first started it was tough to keep from tasting my beers until they were ready but think of it this way - if you keep buying/drinking craft beers until yours are fully ready you will have done plenty of research on what you'd like to brew next, plus you'll have a nice stockpile of bottles to bottle into.