Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > How to wire Johnson Controls A419?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2010, 07:19 PM   #1
amcwi69
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Port Washington, WI
Posts: 15
Default How to wire Johnson Controls A419?

I bought the J.C. A419 at a cheap price, and when it came in the mail I figured out why...its not wired! I looked around on the internet and people kept refering to the zymico.com website, well that website is no longer up.

I know an extension cord can be used by cutting it in half but where do I go from there?? I do have a wiring diagram but I have no idea how to read it correctly.

So can anyone help me out? Pictures would help out a bunch...I'm one of those "learns better from pictures than words" kinda guy.


amcwi69 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 07:27 PM   #2
redbenn
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 133
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amcwi69 View Post
I bought the J.C. A419 at a cheap price, and when it came in the mail I figured out why...its not wired! I looked around on the internet and people kept refering to the zymico.com website, well that website is no longer up.

I know an extension cord can be used by cutting it in half but where do I go from there?? I do have a wiring diagram but I have no idea how to read it correctly.

So can anyone help me out? Pictures would help out a bunch...I'm one of those "learns better from pictures than words" kinda guy.
http://forum.northernbrewer.com/view...=21395&start=0


Worked for me


redbenn is offline
Rocket365 Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 07:31 PM   #3
motobrewer
I'm no atheist scientist, but...
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Thiensville, Wisconsin
Posts: 7,485
Liked 358 Times on 290 Posts
Likes Given: 484

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amcwi69 View Post
I bought the J.C. A419 at a cheap price, and when it came in the mail I figured out why...its not wired! I looked around on the internet and people kept refering to the zymico.com website, well that website is no longer up.

I know an extension cord can be used by cutting it in half but where do I go from there?? I do have a wiring diagram but I have no idea how to read it correctly.

So can anyone help me out? Pictures would help out a bunch...I'm one of those "learns better from pictures than words" kinda guy.
don't feel ripped off, none of them come wired.
motobrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 07:50 PM   #4
amcwi69
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Port Washington, WI
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks redbenn that helped extremely!!

Ok now I have more reason to love northern brewer. I went to the store in milwaukee (I think they just recently opened that location) and fell in love with it. The guys there are extremely helpful. I told the wife she could go home without me, she then proceeded to give me the evil eye...
amcwi69 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 10:11 PM   #5
chumprock
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,043
Liked 34 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

Well... that didnt go so well for me..

Bought a 14ga Extension cord and wired according to diagram.

I checked it, and double checked it, plugged it in and now all I can smell is ozone.

@#$#$@#%
chumprock is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 10:13 PM   #6
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 7,996
Liked 438 Times on 357 Posts
Likes Given: 63

Default

Are you running on 120V AC?

Did you buy an A419ABC-1C?


There are other versions of that controller that *look* the same in terms of wiring and externally, but are actually rated 24VDC (see for example this one). You will fry those in a few seconds if you hook it up to an outlet. There is a little card inside the compartment where you wire the connections that should tell you whether it's 24VDC, 120VAC, etc.

weirdboy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 10:21 PM   #7
chumprock
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,043
Liked 34 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

The part number from my order is A419GBF-1C, which I believe is the 24v model. WHich is the correct part number for the 120v model?
I dont see any specification of voltage in the product descriptions..

FML.
chumprock is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 10:54 PM   #8
Catt22
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,000
Liked 63 Times on 59 Posts
Likes Given: 51

Default

The part number for the 120/240 vac version is A419ABC-1C or A419AEC-1C. I think the difference is in the length of the probe.

Your A419GBF-1C is the 24 volt version which I think is now DOA.

You can go to the Johnson Controls website and find this along with additional information on the controllers:

http://www.johnsoncontrols.com/publi...nglestage.html
Catt22 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 10:57 PM   #9
Catt22
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,000
Liked 63 Times on 59 Posts
Likes Given: 51

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by motobrewer View Post
don't feel ripped off, none of them come wired.
huh? I bought a completely factory wired unit from Northern Brewer a few years ago. The are available both wired and unwired, but every one I've seen listed by the home brewing suppliers has been a fully wired plug and play unit.
Catt22 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 11:06 PM   #10
Scimmia
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: QCA, Iowa
Posts: 959
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Catt22 View Post
huh? I bought a completely factory wired unit from Northern Brewer a few years ago. The are available both wired and unwired, but every one I've seen listed by the home brewing suppliers has been a fully wired plug and play unit.
To the best of my knowledge, they don't come that way from the factory. Someone is adding the wiring after it leaves JC.


Scimmia is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Johnson Controls A419 Terminology (What's it mean?) hafmpty Equipment/Sanitation 10 08-12-2013 03:25 PM
Johnson Controls A419 Ground Wire WorryWort Equipment/Sanitation 3 08-01-2011 12:57 AM
Johnson Controls A419 Probe Dan2539 Equipment/Sanitation 1 12-07-2009 09:02 AM
Johnson Controls A419: Big Difference? piperbrew Equipment/Sanitation 6 08-05-2009 07:24 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS