Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Switch/Relay/Contactor Question
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-08-2010, 08:12 PM   #1
egurney
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 262
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Switch/Relay/Contactor Question

I'm finishing up version 1.0 of my CP diagram. I had a couple of questions on the best way to wire something up.
Due to Amp restrictions, I am going to have a selector switch to switch between my HLT and BK. Right now I have that switch controlling 2 2-pole 40A 120V contactors (BK, and HLT) to give power to each respective SSR set. From a safety aspect I think that is the best way to go, as opposed to switching the DC from the PID.

In conjunction with that, on the HLT (10G cooler), I am going to put in a float switch to turn off the element if the water level gets to close. The output there is low amp 120V, and I am hooking that up to another contactor again to cut power to the respective SSR set.

Looks kind of like this:
Contactor 1 (HLT/BK Selector) -> Contactor 2 (Float Switch) - > SSRs
Contactor 3 (HLT/BK Selector) -> SSRs


From reading the millions of threads on this subject, it seems that when a SSR fails, it fails in the open position. By using the contactors, there is no way for an element that should be off to get power. That's my understanding and thinking anyway...

Does this seem to be the best way to go, or is there a better route.

Thanks,
Eric


egurney is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 08:37 PM   #2
goatchze
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 108
Default

Sounds reasonable. To make sure I'm understanding, your switch is a DPDT with ON-OFF-ON? Middle means nothing is on, one way means one is on, the other way means the other?

IMO it should work fine; I've got something similar for my RIMS heater where a contactor/relay is only ON if the pump is on. I have it drawn out just like you do.
goatchze is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 08:41 PM   #3
egurney
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 262
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
your switch is a DPDT with ON-OFF-ON?
Exactly.

I figured it would work, just wondering if it is overkill.
I figured I could have the switch control the output from the PIDs rather that the power to the SSRs. To me for the small extra investment, this way seems safer.
egurney is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E stop Contactor stevehaun Brew Stands 6 02-01-2010 06:58 PM
Relay IPA, now in my keg! cscade Label Display & Discussion 3 10-28-2009 09:43 PM
Dimmer Switch Question jamesnsw General Chit Chat 11 08-24-2009 09:54 PM
Mounting an outlet/switch to brew cart question atl_sud Brew Stands 10 03-12-2009 10:59 AM
Computer interface to temp probe and 110V contactor needed Gregory Oja Equipment/Sanitation 7 01-17-2007 02:24 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS