Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Newbie questions I haven't seen answered yet

Old 03-08-2010, 01:57 PM   #1
Zombie13
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Newbie questions I haven't seen answered yet

...although I haven't looked overly hard....

So, I started brewing about 3 months ago and I LOVE it!!!! I have 2 batches under my belt, as well as some Lemonade and some Mead. Some questions that I've yet to get answered clearly are:

1) My first batch, a Brewer's best Smoked Porter, turned out really well, but now the bottles are INCREDIBLY foamy. I pop one open and if I don't drink or pour it immediately, I have a geyser. So I pour it, and pretty much immediately get a glass full of foam, with the bottle still overflowing with foam. Eventually it subsides and tastes fine, but it is fairly annoying. Is there anything I can do about this? The beer is already pretty chilled when I open it so.... Should I be concerned about it?

2) I made a batch of hard lemonade what was delicious, but it was still. I want to make another batch sparkling, but I am concerned about making bottle bombs. The recipe I *loosely* followed (I believe it was YooperBrews) listed OG and said what FG he liked it at, but no mention of bottling or stopping fermentation that I could find. I know I can back-sweeten it once fermentation is complete with a non-fermentable, but what about bottling and carbing?

Sorry if these have already been answered, and thanks for the help.

Z.

Old 03-08-2010, 02:10 PM   #2
OHIOSTEVE
Recipes 

Liked 69 Times on 61 Posts
Likes Given: 45

Yoop is a her.......... If your beer tastes fine I am thinking maybe over carbed and I'd be concerned with bottle bombs.
As for the lemonade, I would ferment it out dry, then add a non fermentable sweetener ( splenda) to taste then prime and bottle with corn sugar.
I am a rookie so take this advice with that in mind.

BALDGUT BREWS

Old 03-08-2010, 02:30 PM   #3
Zombie13
Recipes 

Quote: