Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > 30 amp gfi wiring
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-06-2010, 03:58 PM   #1
pp270
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Default 30 amp gfi wiring

I am running two 30 amp GFI circuits for to two seperate 5500 wat heating elements. My question is on the wiring of the 30 amp GFI breakers in the breaker box.

Do both the neutral pigtails on the GFI breakers and the neutrals on the incoming 10 gauge wires for the 30 amp circuits need to goto the neutal bar in the subpanel? Or do the neutrals on the incoming wires need to goto the neutral terminals on the respective GFI breakers and then run the neutral pigtails on the GFI breakers to the neutral bar in the sub panel?

I am only running two hots and the ground for the two GFI circuits so the neutral is unused.


pp270 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 04:01 PM   #2
willynilly
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Avon
Posts: 728
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Mine are wired.

(2) hots going from the panel to the brew rig are inserted into the terminals on the GFCI breaker,

The neutral and ground going from the panel to the rig EDIT: neutral is secured to the neutral terminal on the GFCI breaker

The neutral pigtail from the GFCI, goes to the common neutral/ground bar in the panel.



willynilly is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 04:04 PM   #3
pp270
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Default

just to confirm both the neutal pigtails from the GFI and the neutrals from the incoming wires for the 30 amp circuits into your breaker box are both connected to the neutral bar in the breaker box?

ie there are no neutral wires connected to the terminals on your GFI breakers in the breaker box?
pp270 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 04:05 PM   #4
willynilly
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Avon
Posts: 728
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pp270 View Post
just to confirm both the neutal pigtails from the GFI and the neutrals from the incoming wires for the 30 amp circuits into your breaker box are both connected to the neutral bar in the breaker box?

ie there are no neutral wires connected to the terminals on your GFI breakers in the breaker box?
Actually, no that is incorrect. This is what I get for wiring it a year ago, and not looking today... the neutral coming from the circuit IS inserted into the GFCI breaker

willynilly is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 04:10 PM   #5
pp270
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Default

I see and then the neutral pigtails on the GFIs are then connected to the neutal bar in the panel.

Are you running just the two hots and ground to your brew rig or all four two hots, ground, and neutral?
pp270 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 04:14 PM   #6
willynilly
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Avon
Posts: 728
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pp270 View Post
I see and then the neutral pigtails on the GFIs are then connected to the neutal bar in the panel.

Are you running just the two hots and ground to your brew rig or all four two hots, ground, and neutral?
2 hots, ground and neutral. Yes, the load hots go to the GFCI hots, the load neutral goes to the GFCI neutral terminal, the load ground goes to the common neutral/ground bar. The GFCI pigtail goes to the common ground/neutral bar
willynilly is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 04:17 PM   #7
willynilly
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Avon
Posts: 728
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Here is a little diagram

http://www.ehow.com/how_4780973_wire...t-breaker.html
willynilly is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 06:48 PM   #8
pp270
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Default

this is showing you how to wire up a 240V gfi running all four of the wires (2 hots, neutral, and ground). I am wondering if it needs to be hooked up differently if you just run the two hots and ground.

Anyone else have an opinion?
pp270 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 06:51 PM   #9
willynilly
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Avon
Posts: 728
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pp270 View Post
this is showing you how to wire up a 240V gfi running all four of the wires (2 hots, neutral, and ground). I am wondering if it needs to be hooked up differently if you just run the two hots and ground.

Anyone else have an opinion?
GFCI monitors current, the ground shouldn't matter, there is no current there. And the ground doesnt even go through the GFCI.
willynilly is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 11:12 PM   #10
eweller
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1
Default For the GFI Breakers to work properly

You need to land the wires from the breaker(pigtails) onto the neutral buss in the panel, and land the neutral wires from the machine/plug/receptacle/circuit into the GFI breaker designated for the "load neutrals".


eweller is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another HLT wiring Q? ol' rummie Kettles, Mash Tuns, & Hot Liquor Tanks 0 11-24-2009 01:26 PM
BCS-460 and SSR wiring help! cyberbackpacker Brew Stands 8 10-24-2009 08:40 PM
Need help with wiring barnbrew Brew Stands 2 10-02-2009 02:52 AM
Wiring Problem mcaustin Brew Stands 4 06-06-2008 08:17 PM
Help on wiring attitude Equipment/Sanitation 12 09-20-2007 02:26 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS