Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Dual gauge propane regulator
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2010, 03:30 AM   #1
cascadia
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 92
Default Dual gauge propane regulator

Can a dual gauge regulator be used with LP? Is it safe? I would like to connect one tank to a valve manifold to feed three high pressure turkey fryer burners. I know I will need to change the stem or get the correct adapter.

Thanks


cascadia is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 05:19 AM   #2
lincoln
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lincoln's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: san jose, ca
Posts: 205
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default probably.. providing

probably, only caution would be to not to use one that vents over pressure on the out side. Thinking like an acetylene reg. I doubt it would be worth the money if you had to buy one. some lp tanks will that a float driven gauge. not to mention it is easy to just pick up the smaller tanks.
link

Quote:
Originally Posted by cascadia View Post
Can a dual gauge regulator be used with LP? Is it safe? I would like to connect one tank to a valve manifold to feed three high pressure turkey fryer burners. I know I will need to change the stem or get the correct adapter.

Thanks


lincoln is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 08:22 AM   #3
HABIT
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ann Arbor
Posts: 61
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cascadia View Post
Can a dual gauge regulator be used with LP? Is it safe? I would like to connect one tank to a valve manifold to feed three high pressure turkey fryer burners. I know I will need to change the stem or get the correct adapter.

Thanks
Well after spending 1/2 an hour going into great detail about these pics my browser decided to take a dump and poof its all gone. So heres the just of how it went . . . . .

Co2 regulators ??? blah blah blah
Is this a Trick Question ???

Maybe this is what your thinking but not what I'm hearing . . .
Hope these pics point you in the right direction.


This will FREEZE your tank and pressure valve . . . Yadda yadda yadda
DO AT YOUR OWN RISK ! ! !
Gave reasons why you shouldn't do this to this degree. Blah Blah Blah

Here you go . . .Something like this ????



[IMG][/IMG]


This is set up a little different AND for the older style tank - usually a 100 lb.


[IMG][/IMG]


There are 6 burners running off of 2 20 lb. tanks . . .


[IMG][/IMG]



Regulator is the same one as in the first pic . . . Notice the tank in a tub of water to keep it from freezing so fast. 1/4"+ of ice build up is very common. . .


[IMG][/IMG]



Not the best pic of the tank set up but you can tell its running 2 burners to the pot on the left.



[IMG][/IMG]


These pics where taken during a good freinds Brew Day. One day maybe I'll get there . . .
HABIT is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 08:26 AM   #4
HABIT
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ann Arbor
Posts: 61
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default end of a long day

And 1 more pic at the end of a LONG day . . .


[IMG][/IMG]
HABIT is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 03:22 AM   #5
cascadia
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 92
Default

Habit, I should have been more clear, I was not attempting to make a trick question. I have a bunch of different regulators acetylene, co2, nitrogen. I just wanted to know if one of these would be suitable to regulate my propane flow since I already have them on hand. I am trying to plumb all my burners into one source for convenience, I generally only fire one at a time and my brewery is permanently installed.

I understand why it would freeze in your case. That is a whole bunch of beer!

Perhaps there is a reason that this cannot be done as I do not see people doing it on here. Just wanted to know why?
cascadia is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 03:41 AM   #6
kmack747
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bad Axe, Michigan
Posts: 157
Default

Yes you can use an acetylene reg on a propane tank. I have one on my cutting torch because propane is cheaper than acetylene.The tank coupling is the same. The only problem that may be encountered id the left hand threads on the reg. Flow is not a problem at work we can run 4 demo torches with #6 tips running full bore all day with out a problem.
kmack747 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 03:53 AM   #7
cascadia
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 92
Default

kmack747, thank you. I will proceed and take a look at the threads and probably encounter more questions.
cascadia is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 04:35 AM   #8
HABIT
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ann Arbor
Posts: 61
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I guess the point that got left out in all the yadda yadda yadda, blah blah blah
was that I was curious why you would put a $70+ regulator instead of using an $20 adjustable 30 PSI high pressure propane regulator at the tank. Kinda like a buying Die Hard Gold to put on a $75 riding lawn mower. I was unaware (but should have figured) that you had the other regulators readily available to you.

Never mind . . . Carry on . . . Good Luck

kmack and lincoln seem to be very knowledgeable on the subject.
HABIT is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 12:13 AM   #9
nicknoty
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ct - usa
Posts: 80
Default

if your affraid of leaks use a mix of dish soap and water to spray the threads and it will bubble if it leaking
nicknoty is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 05:04 PM   #10
cascadia
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 92
Default

I will definitely be testing for leaks.


cascadia is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing single gauge regulator to dual chask31 Bottling/Kegging 2 11-25-2009 04:03 AM
For Sale - Dual Gauge Primary CO2 Regulator DKershner For Sale 7 10-14-2009 10:32 AM
Oxygen Regulator - Dual Gauge- Cold_Steel Equipment/Sanitation 3 09-16-2009 07:00 PM
Dual gauge regulator - why? Jayfro21 Bottling/Kegging 7 03-17-2008 11:52 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS