Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > The complete cleaning regimen of a brutus system

Old 03-02-2010, 02:20 PM   #1
sourmash
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default The complete cleaning regimen of a brutus system

I now have 3 brew sessions through my brutus and the biggest question in the back of my mind (especially when I'm getting ready to brew again) is "Is my system clean and sanitized and ready to brew?"

I have read several posts here on the topic and of course many methods, and many theories are present. I have also listened to the pod casts with 5 star about cleaning/sanitizing. My profession is maintenance/reliability engineering and thought it would be really nice to have a maintenance schedule put together for cleaning/sanitizing of a brutus system much like a maintenance schedule for a vehicle or even a checklist that one can go through after brewing and before brewing. I figured since there are several brutus owners here, why not get a collaborative effort at developing a detailed regimen that one could keep a log book on.

Things that I am doing after every brew session includes:
1. - Scrubbing down all three kettles with a sanitized scotch brite pad and hot tap water and rinsing thoroughly.
2. - Fill up the HLT with about 3 or more gallons of hot tap water and run it through one of my 2 pumps to the mash tun. Then from the mash tun I pump that water through the second pump to the boil kettle. I then pump that water from the boil kettle through my plate chiller in the reverse direction that I used it during the brew session.
3. I run hot tap water through all my hoses and then store them away.
4. I clean my hop bag (I use a the 5 gallon paint stainer bags)
5. Rinse all my kettle lids with hot tap water.
6. Rinse my mash paddle with hot tap water.

Things I do before brewing: