Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Power Distribution Blocks
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-22-2010, 04:53 PM   #1
skarude
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 117
Default Power Distribution Blocks

I am looking for some input on what distribution blocks I should be using for an all electric rig. I will be feeding the box with a 4 wire 30A GFCI RV cord. I have seen quite a few different blocks and found a few that I think will work. (example)

Can anyone who has been down this road already comment on what they would use?


skarude is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 05:00 PM   #2
The Pol
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11,774
Liked 81 Times on 69 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skarude View Post
I am looking for some input on what distribution blocks I should be using for an all electric rig. I will be feeding the box with a 4 wire 30A GFCI RV cord. I have seen quite a few different blocks and found a few that I think will work. (example)

Can anyone who has been down this road already comment on what they would use?
I went to automation direct, picked up a HUGE block for about $40 It can accept larger than 6AWG line and up to I think 8AWG loads... it is awesome.

You are looking at what appear to be the terminal strips? The blocks are more expensive, I like them a lot though.




The Pol is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 05:03 PM   #3
RDWHAHB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Denver
Posts: 834
Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Those are terminal block (to bond 2-4 wires). Power distribution blocks are like these:http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/items/5A671?Pid=search


You have a main line comming in, and there are multiple terminals to connect to (all bonded together).

What are you using them for? That will help determine which you need.
RDWHAHB is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 05:08 PM   #4
Boerderij_Kabouter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Boerderij_Kabouter's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Posts: 8,467
Liked 133 Times on 108 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

For 120VAC 20amp, I use this assembly of mcmaster numbers

7527K27
7527K64
7527K17
7527K12
7527K991

Assembled it looks like this:
Boerderij_Kabouter is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 05:15 PM   #5
skarude
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 117
Default

I was looking at the ones from automation direct and they are very nice. Really they are exactly what I want but the line side is listed as accepting 2awg - 8awg wire and I believe my 30A cord is 10awg so these won't work for me. I need to keep looking for something like these that will work.
skarude is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 05:15 PM   #6
MrShake
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,200
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

I'm using a distribution block like Pol is... from automation direct:

I'm using this one:

http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/...ries%29/PB1043

This is in my 240v break out box.
__________________
MrShake - Top Hat Brewery

Project Links: Electric HERMS | Wet Bar

Primary - Air
On Commercial Tap - Sam Adam's Octoberfest
On Tap 2 - Air
On Tap 3 - Air
On Tap 4 - Easy English Mild
On Tap 5 - Air
MrShake is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 05:37 PM   #7
skarude
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 117
Default

Oh the Grainger ones look like they might work. I am using them to distribute my main power out to feed 4 SSRs, conrtol etc. Pretty much the way Pol has his set up.
skarude is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 05:40 PM   #8
skarude
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 117
Default

Do most of you use these for Power/Neutral and have a separate ground bar?
skarude is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 10:20 PM   #9
illin8
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: South County, RI
Posts: 454
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

The work around for using a the Automation Direct block is using a 8/2 & 6/2 range/dryer cord for the load side. Would cost you a little extra, but you could put in another outlet to power an 8/2 6/2 cord for power...
__________________
South County Brewing Co.
Primaries 1 & 2: Apfelwein
Primary 3: EdWort's Haus Pale Ale
Bottle Conditioning: AHS Oktoberfest, Biermuncher's Centennial Blonde

On deck: Nothing (recently moved/working on the laundry list)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laughing_Gnome_Invisible View Post
Love is not a pink heart on a Hallmark card. It is a curse on mankind in which the male of the species must continually struggle to gain his own happiness by means of satiating the batcrap crazy stupid whims of the lady with the snaky hair.
illin8 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 10:23 PM   #10
skarude
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 117
Default

That's not a bad idea. I actually ordered one of these. I hope it will do the trick, but I guess I can always re-sell it if not.



skarude is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
control panel power distribution paledragon Brew Stands 2 02-06-2010 09:14 PM
Charlotte Airport Public WIFI Blocks HomeBrewTalk.com olllllo General Chit Chat 14 01-24-2009 04:56 PM
Gas distribution. Bender Equipment/Sanitation 5 01-22-2009 09:32 PM
Bypassing Work Blocks Orpheus General Chit Chat 8 12-19-2006 01:28 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS