ebay aquarium temp controller build - Page 92 - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > ebay aquarium temp controller build

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2011, 10:25 PM   #911
418Brewing
Recipes 
 
Nov 2010
Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 37
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


I tried to find the answer but 90+ pages is a lot to wade through.

I just want to know if it is possible to use a 220v controller on a 110v circuit. I have read that the controller's display and logic will run on either 220v or 110v, but I haven't been able to find a clear answer as to whether it will trigger the switches and actually turn the outputs on and off.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 11:34 PM   #912
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Cary, NC
Posts: 10,987
Liked 101 Times on 89 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by 418Brewing View Post
I tried to find the answer but 90+ pages is a lot to wade through.

I just want to know if it is possible to use a 220v controller on a 110v circuit. I have read that the controller's display and logic will run on either 220v or 110v, but I haven't been able to find a clear answer as to whether it will trigger the switches and actually turn the outputs on and off.
Nope. It doesn't work. One guy tried, and it's exactly what you said. The display and temp reading part of the thing works, but the relays that switch on and off the heating and cooling circuits don't work.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 12:28 PM   #913
dgoldb1
Recipes 
 
Jan 2007
Baltimore, MD
Posts: 380
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


Can I just submerge the temp prob in my carboy in order to get the most acurate reading? I was thinking about just putting it through the bung, squeezing it right next to my airlock. Any other recommendations?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 02:05 PM   #914
pvtschultz
Recipes 
 
Feb 2010
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Posts: 457
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts


I think that you'd be better off attaching it to the outside of your fermenter and then insulating it some to get more accurate readings. Sticking anything into the wort risks an infection IMO.
__________________
Brewing: Amber Ale, Dunkel
Drinking: Sour Brown, Schlitz...
On Deck: Berliner Weisse, Spotted Cow Clone, CAP...
2016 Gallons Brewed: 10 :(
Gallons Brewed '11-'15: 319

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/pvt...inally-298407/

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 02:50 PM   #915
Flomaster
 
Flomaster's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2010
Orange, Ca
Posts: 2,149
Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by dgoldb1
Can I just submerge the temp prob in my carboy in order to get the most acurate reading? I was thinking about just putting it through the bung, squeezing it right next to my airlock. Any other recommendations?
Yes , but I'd use a ss thermowell in the stopper. I wouldn't directly put the probe into wort.

-= Jason =-

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 05:54 PM   #916
dgoldb1
Recipes 
 
Jan 2007
Baltimore, MD
Posts: 380
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by pvtschultz View Post
I think that you'd be better off attaching it to the outside of your fermenter and then insulating it some to get more accurate readings. Sticking anything into the wort risks an infection IMO.
I can't stick it to the outside of the carboy if I'm using a FermWrap.

Which type of Thermowell would I need? I see different controllers require different types of Thermowell's.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 06:58 PM   #917
Flomaster
 
Flomaster's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2010
Orange, Ca
Posts: 2,149
Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts


All you need is the ss tubing that had been crimped or soldered st the end of it. The stock price then goes down inside of it. the ranco one at my lhbs looked pretty easy to duplicate.

-= Jason =-

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 07:35 PM   #918
dgoldb1
Recipes 
 
Jan 2007
Baltimore, MD
Posts: 380
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


so the inside of the SS tubing does not have liquid in it, correct?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 10:02 PM   #919
Flomaster
 
Flomaster's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2010
Orange, Ca
Posts: 2,149
Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by dgoldb1
so the inside of the SS tubing does not have liquid in it, correct?
Correct it's hallow.

the ranco unit I looked at had two homes in the stopper.one for the airlock device and another for the thermowell the temp probe just dropped down into the thermowell from the top of the stopper

-= Jason =-

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 10:25 PM   #920
wood7588
 
wood7588's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2008
The Willamette Valley, Oregon
Posts: 34
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


I know people have asked before, but I dont think I have seen the answer. Has anyone discovered a replacement Temp Probe that will work with these controllers? I would like to have a second one that I can keep in a thermowell for my fermentation chamber, so i dont have to keep removing the one I have set up in the Kegerator.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY temp controller build android DIY Projects 100 05-09-2013 01:14 PM
Control Fermentation temp with Aquarium Heater chemist308 General Techniques 20 12-15-2012 12:13 AM
question about "aquarium temperature controller" SamBrewer General Techniques 12 02-26-2011 07:30 PM
Attic Fan Temp Controller = Inexpensive Fermentation Controller???? Beernip General Techniques 5 06-16-2009 04:30 PM
Brutus Build Controller Box? gruversm Brew Stands 9 03-27-2009 03:54 AM


Forum Jump