ebay aquarium temp controller build - Page 61 - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > ebay aquarium temp controller build

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2011, 03:30 PM   #601
Cazamodo
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Ipswich UK
Posts: 227
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts


This is a real noob question.
Im in the UK, will the UK plugs just wire directly in like the US ones?
I mean into the power supply, the heat/cool out, I can just substitue the US sockets for UK ones right?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 03:58 PM   #602
ShakerD
 
ShakerD's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2010
Calgary, AB
Posts: 393
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


You are going to want the 220 version instead of the 110. The auction I bought from stated that the seller would send the right voltage for your country but I would make sure of that before I order. The outlets/sockets should be pretty interchangeable. If you can't get the outlets easily you could always use a powerbar extension cord.

That being said if you have to ask this question maybe you should see if you could find a friend that is an electrician or has some experience with electricity to guide/help you. This is a simple project but electricity is dangerous and one wrong wire could cause a fire or worse kill you.

Cheers


 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 04:03 PM   #603
Cazamodo
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Ipswich UK
Posts: 227
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by ShakerD View Post
You are going to want the 220 version instead of the 110. The auction I bought from stated that the seller would send the right voltage for your country but I would make sure of that before I order. The outlets/sockets should be pretty interchangeable. If you can't get the outlets easily you could always use a powerbar extension cord.

That being said if you have to ask this question maybe you should see if you could find a friend that is an electrician or has some experience with electricity to guide/help you. This is a simple project but electricity is dangerous and one wrong wire could cause a fire or worse kill you.

Cheers

Yea, I was worried I may end up electrocuting myself, or worse someone else! I know a good electrician that I'm sure will be able to easily help me, just wanted to know if the were interchangeable!

Cheers!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 02:54 AM   #604
Mobius570
Recipes 
 
Feb 2010
Bloomsburg, PA
Posts: 74
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts


I have been watching this thread since day 1 and finally pulled the trigger on one.

I'm about to brew a Mad Elf clone and hope to have it before brew day, so I can slap into a newly built ferm chamber. Basement this time of year is way too cold. Great find!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 03:38 PM   #605
Flomaster
 
Flomaster's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2010
Orange, Ca
Posts: 2,149
Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts


yeah right now my keezer is sitting at 7° Celsius with it turned off and unplugged and has been since I started build my keezer a couple weeks ago. I need to get my mini fridge in the garage or house and see what the temp is inside the house turned off

I am still looking for a free of dirt cheap fridge to be had so I don't have to build anything.

-=Jason=-

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 08:55 PM   #606
frod1963
Recipes 
 
May 2008
Arlington, VT
Posts: 210
Liked 15 Times on 9 Posts


Thanks again for the link to this controller. I ordered mine Monday and got started on the box.


 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 11:44 PM   #607
jayfaustini
Recipes 
 
Sep 2010
San Francisco
Posts: 9
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Finally getting around to wiring my controllers.
I have several 14 gauage power cords I am thinking of using.
Seems to me that 14 guage wire is sufficient.
Am I correct?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 02:19 PM   #608
Bjornbrewer
 
Bjornbrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2008
St. Clair Shores, MI, USA, Earth, Sol System, Milky Way
Posts: 417
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


yup...14 is good for 15 amps.
__________________
Sand Viking Brewery

“Happiness? A good cigar, a good meal, a good cigar and a good woman - or a bad woman; it depends on how much happiness you can handle.” ~George Burns

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 02:44 PM   #609
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Cary, NC
Posts: 10,987
Liked 101 Times on 89 Posts


aaaaaaaand, another one in a 6x4x2 box. I think i could have gotten it into a 4x4x2 box, but they didn't sell that size.



If anyone is considering this but afraid of doing the work, don't fret. My 8 year old wanted to help me, so I let him do a good chunk of the work. I cut the rectangle holes and stripped wires, he did the drilling and wiring.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 02:48 PM   #610
ekjohns
Recipes 
 
May 2009
IL
Posts: 1,405
Liked 22 Times on 20 Posts


Ive got mine hooked up and running the first 2 beers everything temp wise was right on the money. Yesterday i started my 3rd beer with the probe tapped to the side of the carboy with a folded paper towel over it and my temp reading is 0.5 C too high. I have repositioned the probe, checked the temp with a highly accurate thermometer and 2 strip tape thermometers. I know I can adjust the calibration just wondering if anyone else has had their probe read a little off?

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY temp controller build android DIY Projects 100 05-09-2013 01:14 PM
Control Fermentation temp with Aquarium Heater chemist308 General Techniques 20 12-15-2012 12:13 AM
question about "aquarium temperature controller" SamBrewer General Techniques 12 02-26-2011 07:30 PM
Attic Fan Temp Controller = Inexpensive Fermentation Controller???? Beernip General Techniques 5 06-16-2009 04:30 PM
Brutus Build Controller Box? gruversm Brew Stands 9 03-27-2009 03:54 AM


Forum Jump