ebay aquarium temp controller build - Page 41 - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > ebay aquarium temp controller build

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-20-2010, 02:33 PM   #401
DeBrewer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
The South
Posts: 238
Liked 17 Times on 9 Posts


Ha! I truthfully didn't even look for holes to "clamp" the wire in. I paid my way through college working in an auto customization shop so when I looked at the screws I automatically flashed back to amplifiers and proceeded accordingly. Each wire is very secure and there is no tension on any of them. I installed amplifiers in this exact way for a long time and never had one come loose even being beat to death in the trunk of every old school ghetto ride that came in.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 02:56 PM   #402
Waunabeer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Waunabeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
Rockford, MI
Posts: 344
Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts


It doesn't look like stranded wire; it looks like solid copper wire which makes it good.
__________________
____________________________________________
On Deck:--Zombie Dirt IPA --
Primary:--Kitson Kolsch--
Secondary: --nothing--
Bottled/Kegged: --Bells Oberon Clone, Autumn Amber, Lemon Light Ale, Spotted Cow Clone, Honey Bee Ale, Double Chocolate Oatmeal Stout, Trappist Ale, Bell's Oberon Clone, Savannah Saison, Cream Ale, Fat Tire Clone, Mad Cow, Koppslam IIPA--
On Tap: Ben's IPA, Saison De Noel, Mad Cow
--------------------------------------------------

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 04:18 PM   #403
DeBrewer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
The South
Posts: 238
Liked 17 Times on 9 Posts


It is multi strand. Cut up extension cord.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 02:45 AM   #404
brettwasbtd
Awesomeness Award Winnner
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
brettwasbtd's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2010
Damascus, MD
Posts: 1,800
Liked 161 Times on 117 Posts


Just skimmed through this whole thread. I have a question regarding Amps - The Cord and Outlet/Socket I bought are 15 Amps. The unit is only capable of 10Amps. I know the power is contingent upon what my house is putting out, which might not be a full 15 amps, but if it does put out more than 10 amps, while this fry the controller? I think many posts ago someone said you could put a _______ (forget the term, but its like a reducer) on. Is this necessary? I am not an electrician.

Also, I believe it was Walker was talking about using a cell phone charge to run a DC fan... could someone elaborate on you that works? Thanks!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 11:29 AM   #405
wyzazz
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,312
Liked 55 Times on 52 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by brettwasbtd View Post
Just skimmed through this whole thread. I have a question regarding Amps - The Cord and Outlet/Socket I bought are 15 Amps. The unit is only capable of 10Amps. I know the power is contingent upon what my house is putting out, which might not be a full 15 amps, but if it does put out more than 10 amps, while this fry the controller?!
Your house is making 15amps available, but your freezer/refridgerator isn't drawing all 15 of those amps. Check the sticker on the back, most chest freezers draw under 5amps.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 01:04 PM   #406
brettwasbtd
Awesomeness Award Winnner
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
brettwasbtd's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2010
Damascus, MD
Posts: 1,800
Liked 161 Times on 117 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by wyzazz View Post
Your house is making 15amps available, but your freezer/refridgerator isn't drawing all 15 of those amps. Check the sticker on the back, most chest freezers draw under 5amps.
So, to confirm, the controller can be supplied way more then 10 amps, it will just fail if anything plugged into it draws over 10?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 01:09 PM   #407
wyzazz
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,312
Liked 55 Times on 52 Posts


Correct! And if you drew more than 15A your breaker would trip.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 01:44 PM   #408
brettwasbtd
Awesomeness Award Winnner
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
brettwasbtd's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2010
Damascus, MD
Posts: 1,800
Liked 161 Times on 117 Posts


Great, Thanks Wyzazz! Should wire this thing up by the weekend... then gotta build a box around my mini fridge...if only I had a truck to pick up fridges off of craigslist - I have seen so many under $50

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 03:06 PM   #409
brettwasbtd
Awesomeness Award Winnner
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
brettwasbtd's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2010
Damascus, MD
Posts: 1,800
Liked 161 Times on 117 Posts


Wired it up! Works great, now to build the fermentation chamber box around my minifridge. If all goes well should have this chamber operational by the end of the weekend Thanks for all the help everyone!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 04:31 PM   #410
elproducto
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
Ontario
Posts: 1,116
Liked 20 Times on 17 Posts


Got my temp controller, and I'm going to wire this badboy up. Is 4x4x4 junction box sufficient?

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY temp controller build android DIY Projects 100 05-09-2013 01:14 PM
Control Fermentation temp with Aquarium Heater chemist308 General Techniques 20 12-15-2012 12:13 AM
question about "aquarium temperature controller" SamBrewer General Techniques 12 02-26-2011 07:30 PM
Attic Fan Temp Controller = Inexpensive Fermentation Controller???? Beernip General Techniques 5 06-16-2009 04:30 PM
Brutus Build Controller Box? gruversm Brew Stands 9 03-27-2009 03:54 AM


Forum Jump