ebay aquarium temp controller build - Page 261 - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > ebay aquarium temp controller build

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-06-2012, 03:31 PM   #2601
JuanMoore
 
JuanMoore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2009
The Old Pueblo
Posts: 22,389
Liked 3742 Times on 3552 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhenjum

Getting back to the single stage controller with 7 inputs. Does the hot from the pigtail go into 6 or 7?
It's just a switch, so either one. Then the outgoing hot to your outlet/device would connect to the other one.
__________________
I'm trying to find some porn filmed by a dog wearing a GoPro. - SharonaZamboni

Hunter, when you get bored, will you put a taco in my elephant's hands for me? - Hat

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 07:20 PM   #2602
Jhenjum
Recipes 
 
Nov 2008
Stillwater, MN
Posts: 58
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by JuanMoore

It's just a switch, so either one. Then the outgoing hot to your outlet/device would connect to the other one.
Got it. Thanks.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 01:28 AM   #2603
lurker18
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
lurker18's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 641
Liked 25 Times on 24 Posts


I have the dual stage controller, but only want to use it for cooling. Are there any diagrams in this forever long thread that show the wiring for this. And before someone tells me to search, I have done that, and there are still too many posts to search through.

As a suggestion, maybe a side post or a sticky with diagrams only, for two stage, with a fan, single stage, etc.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:18 AM   #2604
mjmac85
Recipes 
 
Feb 2012
Kaneohe, Hi
Posts: 248
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


I do the same thing. Just use the plug that is wired for cooling.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 05:47 PM   #2605
lurker18
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
lurker18's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 641
Liked 25 Times on 24 Posts


Sounding pretty stupid here, but do you have to wire up all the ports for cooling only? I have the power line and neutral in 1 and 2, the probe in 3 and 4, nothing in 5 and 6, a jumper from the power (1) in 7, and a line back to the plug in 8. I can hear the controller click on at the set temp, but the freezer does not kick in. Yes the freezer works plugged straight into power plug, but not through the controller.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:14 PM   #2606
barryfine
Recipes 
 
Apr 2012
Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 143
Liked 6 Times on 3 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by lurker18 View Post
Sounding pretty stupid here, but do you have to wire up all the ports for cooling only? I have the power line and neutral in 1 and 2, the probe in 3 and 4, nothing in 5 and 6, a jumper from the power (1) in 7, and a line back to the plug in 8. I can hear the controller click on at the set temp, but the freezer does not kick in. Yes the freezer works plugged straight into power plug, but not through the controller.
That sounds right. Potentially dumb question: Do have a neutral wire going to the plug too?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:37 PM   #2607
lurker18
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
lurker18's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 641
Liked 25 Times on 24 Posts


The neutral from the power goes to the plug first, then a jumper from the plug to the controller

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:39 PM   #2608
barryfine
Recipes 
 
Apr 2012
Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 143
Liked 6 Times on 3 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by lurker18 View Post
The neutral from the power goes to the plug first, then a jumper from the plug to the controller
Yeah, that sounds right. Maybe you could take a pic of it?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 09:41 PM   #2609
lurker18
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
lurker18's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 641
Liked 25 Times on 24 Posts


After rewriting several times, I have just come to discover that terminal 8 is not getting power. Hope I can find another controller soon, my hair pulling is getting the better of me right now.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 09:49 PM   #2610
barryfine
Recipes 
 
Apr 2012
Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 143
Liked 6 Times on 3 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by lurker18 View Post
After rewriting several times, I have just come to discover that terminal 8 is not getting power. Hope I can find another controller soon, my hair pulling is getting the better of me right now.
Have you confirmed that you are feeding live power to terminal 7? If so, then I'd tend to agree with you that the controller is not functioning properly as the terminal 8 should be hot if the cool light is lit.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY temp controller build android DIY Projects 100 05-09-2013 01:14 PM
Control Fermentation temp with Aquarium Heater chemist308 General Techniques 20 12-15-2012 12:13 AM
question about "aquarium temperature controller" SamBrewer General Techniques 12 02-26-2011 07:30 PM
Attic Fan Temp Controller = Inexpensive Fermentation Controller???? Beernip General Techniques 5 06-16-2009 04:30 PM
Brutus Build Controller Box? gruversm Brew Stands 9 03-27-2009 03:54 AM


Forum Jump