ebay aquarium temp controller build - Page 244 - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > ebay aquarium temp controller build

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-07-2012, 01:27 PM   #2431
-MG-
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 333
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


So I've been using the controller without a hitch for about 3 weeks now. And this morning I came down to my lagerator and found the controller off but the fridge running (it's hardwired into the fridge's power).

Checked the connections, one or two looked like they kind of came loose, readjusted with power off, plugged in the fridge and the controller didn't turn on like it normally did. I hit the power button it came on, but was cycling like crazy with the clicking that usually comes with turning on a heating or cooling element.

I'm wondering if something else came loose in my wiring. Didnt have time to fiddle with it so I'll have to go through everything later. I ordered another one just in case something went bad in mine.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 07:51 PM   #2432
petrostar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2008
Tacoma, Wa
Posts: 459
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


Think you may have a bad relay. Also check to see if your transformer is supplying the correct voltage to the 24v side of your relay. It sounds like your relay is maybe chattering on/off. This could be due to a bad relay inside your temp controller or your 24v 110volt relay.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 07:54 PM   #2433
flanneltrees804
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Chicago, IL
Posts: 118
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Question... I have my stc-1000 on order and picked up a project box and cord today. The cord is 16 gauge and 25' long. I was just going to cut off about 3 feet of the cord to use to connect the controller to the outlet; is this what you guys do or do you get different wire? I just figured I don't need a 25' power cord but it was on clearance for $4.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 08:17 PM   #2434
arkham_razors
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
Binghamton, NY
Posts: 45
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by flanneltrees804 View Post
Question... I have my stc-1000 on order and picked up a project box and cord today. The cord is 16 gauge and 25' long. I was just going to cut off about 3 feet of the cord to use to connect the controller to the outlet; is this what you guys do or do you get different wire? I just figured I don't need a 25' power cord but it was on clearance for $4.
Should work fine.
__________________
"Go away, I'm in the middle of a supernatural experience."

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 08:25 PM   #2435
flanneltrees804
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Chicago, IL
Posts: 118
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Bad news, I just took a second look at the cord and it's NOT grounded... am I asking for trouble?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 09:08 PM   #2436
Kingfish
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Atlanta
Posts: 253
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by flanneltrees804 View Post
Bad news, I just took a second look at the cord and it's NOT grounded... am I asking for trouble?
Not being grounded you will be defeating any grounded appliance downstream. If whatever you are plugging into it is not grounded and the box you put it in is not metal then you are fine. If the appliance (fridge/freezer/etc) has a ground then get another cord and run the ground to the outlet as recommended in this thread. I am not using a grounded plug on mine but I am only using a non-grounded appliance (space heater.)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 09:09 PM   #2437
benbradford
Recipes 
 
May 2007
Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,010
Liked 34 Times on 30 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Double-R View Post
Just when I thought that there was nothing left to surprise me (or maybe just not much) this little diy blows my mind
__________________
I think it's too bad that everybody's decided to turn on drugs, I don't think drugs are the problem. Crime is the problem. Cops are the problem. Money's the problem. But drugs are just drugs.
Jerry Garcia

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 02:00 AM   #2438
Berniep
Recipes 
 
Jun 2010
Greensburg IN
Posts: 164
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by flanneltrees804
Question... I have my stc-1000 on order and picked up a project box and cord today. The cord is 16 gauge and 25' long. I was just going to cut off about 3 feet of the cord to use to connect the controller to the outlet; is this what you guys do or do you get different wire? I just figured I don't need a 25' power cord but it was on clearance for $4.
Careful, the length of the sensor wire is pretty short. Wont reach from the top of the fridge to my fermenter inside.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 02:58 PM   #2439
Kingfish
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Atlanta
Posts: 253
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Berniep View Post
Careful, the length of the sensor wire is pretty short. Wont reach from the top of the fridge to my fermenter inside.
The sensor wire can easily be extended (as has been discussed in this thread.)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 03:23 PM   #2440
brettwasbtd
Awesomeness Award Winnner
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
brettwasbtd's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2010
Damascus, MD
Posts: 1,803
Liked 161 Times on 117 Posts


Anyones unit stop working? I have been using mine for about a year or so now and it was working fine. I set the temp higher on my lager to let it free rise for a diacetyl rest and it just never kicked back on? I am gonna open it up sometime next weekend to see, but was wondering if anyone else had ideas?

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY temp controller build android DIY Projects 100 05-09-2013 01:14 PM
Control Fermentation temp with Aquarium Heater chemist308 General Techniques 20 12-15-2012 12:13 AM
question about "aquarium temperature controller" SamBrewer General Techniques 12 02-26-2011 07:30 PM
Attic Fan Temp Controller = Inexpensive Fermentation Controller???? Beernip General Techniques 5 06-16-2009 04:30 PM
Brutus Build Controller Box? gruversm Brew Stands 9 03-27-2009 03:54 AM


Forum Jump