Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Lambic & Wild Brewing > Source For Brettanomyces Anomalus?

Old 02-03-2010, 03:21 AM   #1
thelorax121
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Source For Brettanomyces Anomalus?

So I am just getting into Brett fermentations, and I am looking to split a 5 gal batch and ferment one with Brett. A and the other with Brett. C. The problem is, I can't seem to find a source for any cultures of Brett. A from Wyeast, White Labs or otherwise. Does anyone have an inside source for this strain so I can get my Brett career a-goin'?

Worst case scenario, I have a starter from the dregs of two bottles of Avery 15 that seems to be taking off that I could pitch in place of the Brett A. Again, I am new to Brett, so while it looks like a layer of yeast is forming at the bottom of the flask, I am not sure on the time-line, or the visual clues for an actively fermenting Brett starter, so input on this would be helpful too. Thanks in advance for the input!

Old 02-03-2010, 05:35 AM   #2
carnevoodoo
Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 5

http://madfermentationist.blogspot.c...alus-brew.html

Email that guy or ask someone on the Babble Belt homebrew forum. Those guys will have it or know where to get it.

Old 02-09-2010, 02:54 AM   #3
Saccharomyces
Be good to your yeast...
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 96 Times on 56 Posts
Likes Given: 3

The Avery 15 dregs should work fine, just keep in mind brett grows slower than sacc yeast so it will take about a week to get a big enough starter built up to pitch. If you have a warm place (~80*F) for the starter, that will also help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soperbrew
big brother only monitors facebook and untappd

Old 02-09-2010, 06:14 AM   #4
Jaymo
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts