Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > strain hops in secondary
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2010, 11:04 PM   #1
slvrmon92
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: delaware
Posts: 4
Default strain hops in secondary

I am getting ready to bottle Sunday and there is still a bit of hops at the top of the beer rest has settled to the bottom. I used 1 oz. of cascade hop pellets. Just straight in. Was I supposed to put in bag or anything??

It is in secondary and was hopped a week ago.

Do I strain it when it goes into bottling bucket?? Before the bottling?
slvrmon92 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 11:08 PM   #2
TipsyDragon
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: California
Posts: 2,607
Liked 22 Times on 20 Posts

Default

you don't really have to filter anything. when ever i see a post like this i always wonder why people worry. i always just dump the hops directly in the boiling wort, let it ferment, then rack to the bottling bucket. i've never had a problem with hops in my beer glass.
TipsyDragon is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 11:08 PM   #3
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Yooper's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UP of Michigan
Posts: 64,433
Liked 5577 Times on 4009 Posts
Likes Given: 1371

Default

No, it'll be fine. You won't want to strain or otherwise oxidize the beer. What I do is just start the siphon in the middle, and then lower it until it's just off the bottom. That way you don't suck up any trub or hops particles. I never use a hops bag, and I make a ton of hoppy beers.
__________________
Broken Leg Brewery
Giving beer a leg to stand on since 2006

Follow me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lorena.t.evans
But I'm pretty boring so don't expect much!
https://www.facebook.com/lorena.t.evans
Yooper is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 12:41 AM   #4
IceFisherChris
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Menomonie, WI
Posts: 476
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I have strained once, but that was when I racked to the primary from my brew kettle. I would do it again too. I think it's handy and helps yield slightly more usable beer (with hoppy beers you get less beer/hop sludge mixture in the bottom).
Don't strain any other time. this prevents aerating your beer. The floaties will be fine and will settle. Oh and I do not use a hop bag for dry hopping (I assume that is what you were doing?) Just chuck them in.
IceFisherChris is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 11:31 PM   #5
artguy
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 192
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I find that attaching a sanitized nylon paint strainer bag to the racking cane with a rubber band works like a charm when I'm racking to the bottling bucket, if it's a beer with a bunch of floating hops. Not 100% necessary probably, but it does work well if you want to be sure you're not siphoning up hop matter.
artguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I strain my hops? allanmac00 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 3 02-22-2009 12:25 AM
How to strain out hops SixFoFalcon Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 3 07-23-2007 02:42 PM
New way I came up with to strain my hops! ontap@home All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 2 04-23-2007 11:31 PM
Strain the hops? jburkh Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 3 09-21-2006 09:21 PM
Forgot to strain hops weebay Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 1 11-08-2005 05:35 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS