Kill-A-Watt Brewery Build Compilation - Page 54 - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Kill-A-Watt Brewery Build Compilation

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2010, 09:47 PM   #531
The Pol
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
Posts: 11,454
Liked 97 Times on 82 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by JayInJersey View Post
Wireless Print Server?
Yes, becuase I can attach the BCS to it in one of the computer ethernet ports, it has 4 PC ports

Problem being, I have to figure out how to get it configured to my home network

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 09:52 PM   #532
JayInJersey
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
JayInJersey's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2009
New Jersey
Posts: 595
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


You just wanted something to connect you to the WiFi you already have right?

I'm fairly certain you can do it with the Print Server after some tweaking...but in the future, just order one of these:
http://www.amazon.com/TRENDnet-Wirel...p_ob_e_title_0

I use this to connect my 400 disc BluRay player to the net for updates and catalogs.

You'd be connected by now too

be back...gonna check out the manual
__________________
Hazard Brewing

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 10:01 PM   #533
The Pol
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
Posts: 11,454
Liked 97 Times on 82 Posts


I am sure it will work, it is just a bridge, and now I am trying to explain to this lady from India why I am not attaching a printer to it.... damn

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 10:05 PM   #534
JayInJersey
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
JayInJersey's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2009
New Jersey
Posts: 595
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Ok from what I read you basically want to set your laptop to use 92.168.1.100 as its IP then connect wired to the PS at 192.168.1.102

Once there you want to find (there is no screens of the config page so that's the best I can give ya) the SSID section and enter your network info.
__________________
Hazard Brewing

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 10:09 PM   #535
JayInJersey
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
JayInJersey's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2009
New Jersey
Posts: 595
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Dammit...I need to RTFM more myself as opposed to telling all the lemmings that call my support station that (don't tell them or I'll never live it down)


On the 192.168.0.102 (sorry messed it up the first time...there is a 0 not a 1) page you want the "Wireless Settings" link

Then choose "Select Existing Network"
Connect to yours
Plug the BCS in (you assigned this an IP on your network already I'm assuming)
And BAM it should be up
__________________
Hazard Brewing


 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 10:20 PM   #536
eccsynd
control freak
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
eccsynd's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2008
Minnesota
Posts: 172
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


I've mentioned this before on another thread, but after you think that you have your wireless bridge setup properly for your network, verify it before plugging in the BCS. You can verify that the bridge is working properly by connecting a laptop to it. (make sure the laptop's own wireless is disabled, so it has to go through the bridge).
Its much easier to get the bridge working when you can see what's happening on the other side.. A laptop is much nicer than that BCS when setting up a bridge.

Also, its recommended that you set your BCS to a static IP when using a wireless bridge. This bypasses any weird startup timing issues that you could run into with DHCP.
__________________
BCS-460 Temperature Controller - Interactive web based interface, data logging, and programmable control rules.
http://www.embeddedcc.com
Become an ECC fan on Facebook

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 10:25 PM   #537
The Pol
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
Posts: 11,454
Liked 97 Times on 82 Posts


Funny, during the girls loooooong pauses, I figured it out on my own. It is working perfectly now. The KEY, was logging in to my home router and transferring all of those setting to the bridge, then I assigned the bridge an IP in the range that my home network allows and bam... the BCS is running a process now, watching the SSRs blink

Thanks dudes. Looks like I just needed another hour.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 12:15 AM   #538
Sawdustguy
 
Sawdustguy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
Manorville, New York
Posts: 2,708
Liked 36 Times on 30 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by The Pol View Post
Funny, during the girls loooooong pauses, I figured it out on my own. It is working perfectly now. The KEY, was logging in to my home router and transferring all of those setting to the bridge, then I assigned the bridge an IP in the range that my home network allows and bam... the BCS is running a process now, watching the SSRs blink

Thanks dudes. Looks like I just needed another hour.
Almost there Pol. I bet you can see the light at the end of the tunnel.
__________________
Guy

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 12:35 AM   #539
The Pol
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
Posts: 11,454
Liked 97 Times on 82 Posts


Speaking of lights... I have a short vid coming up from YouTube. The brewery is finished.

EDIT:
Here is the rig, living and breathing on its own. The pulse of the system is clearly visible




 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 01:05 AM   #540
Brewmoor
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Brewmoor's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Colorado
Posts: 929
Liked 15 Times on 15 Posts


Very nice. Congratulations.
__________________
"What the mind can conceive and believe, the mind can achieve."

My build thread. Compact Single Tier!

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEED HELP! I want to build a brewery dregus Equipment/Sanitation 2 08-10-2009 01:11 PM
500 watt or other low watt elements JVD_X Brew Stands 6 02-21-2009 10:08 PM


Forum Jump