Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > First Time here.

Old 07-19-2005, 03:44 AM   #1
MaltyRod
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default First Time here.

Howdy, I had been contemplating starting my own homebrewing now for a couple years but never took the leap, I always would spy the MrBeer kits from afar and ponder the wonders of it, but thankfully moved next door to a neighbor that had a real homebrew kit, so eventually I moseyed over to the Local Homebrew beer and wine shop and picked me up a $150 kit that came with two glass carboys and all the beer fixins, they let me swap the pale ale Malt syrup with an Amber syrup since I like my beers a little darker. The kit only cost me a new bed frame (fiance said if I get a beer kit then she gets something too )

Questions:

My kit came with 2- 5 gallon glass carboys which doesnt leave much room for the initial fermentation so they use a blowout tube method into a sanitized solution jar for the first few days and then attatch the fermentation lock, is this method okay or should I save up for a 6 gallon Primary fermenter carboy?

My beer took off fermenting like a rabbit after the first 10 hours in the carboy or so, and I saw lots of bubbling in the blowout jar. after putting on the fermentation lock the bubbling was still pretty good but by today (batch was started 7-15 night) it has a bubble go out maybe every 5 seconds is this about average?

My instructions say to transfer my batch over to a secondary fermenter 4-6 days from beginning, is this about the average?

Sorry if I sound too inquisitive just want to do this right.

Thanks Rod

Old 07-19-2005, 03:54 AM   #2
SwAMi75

Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts