Belgian Strong Ale Comments Please - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Belgian Strong Ale Comments Please

Old 01-16-2010, 02:12 PM   #1
hbhudy
Recipes 

Oct 2009
Cincinnati, OH
Liked 13 Times on 9 Posts

I am planning on making a Belgian Strong Ale in the near future (already have the ingredients). I am looking for idea's on what might improve this package.
Ingredient list
6# Golden LME (Northern Brewer)
2# Amber DME
1# Clear Candi Sugar
1# Blonde Candi Sugar
1# Brown Candi Sugar
2oz Golding Hop
2oz Saaz Hop
3packs WYeast-1388 Belgian Strong Ale

Given this list I was looking for idea's to help with staying close to a belgian ale.. One suggestion was to add grains of paradise. Any other ideas?

Old 01-16-2010, 03:00 PM   #2

I'm not an expert on this style but wonder about the 3 lbs of sugar. If you look around the recipe database here, under Belgian Strong Ale, I suspect you'll find that most of the recipes use less than that, between 1 - 2 lbs. If you browse the other recipes, it may also give you ideas on other ingredients, like the grains of paradise you mentioned. Cheers!

Old 01-16-2010, 03:04 PM   #3

Definately way too much sugar. Special B is another good addition you can make.

Another HERMS rig...

Old 01-18-2010, 03:48 AM   #4
Fat Guy Brewing
Recipes 

Jun 2008
Kansas City Metro
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I am wondering about 3 packs of yeast. Seems like overkill. Don't you know there's a recession on? I would save the expense. My wyeast guide says 1388 will tolerate 12-13% ABV. You would have to have an OG of 1.09 or 1.10, something like that to get 12-13% ABV. I don't know if you would get there with 8# of extract.

Brewing: IPA
Fermenting: Oktoberfast
Aging:
Drinking: Fat Guy Porter, Fat Guy Tire, AJ's Raspberry, SWMBO Slayer
Up Next: Xmas Ale

Old 01-20-2010, 12:55 AM   #5
hbhudy
Recipes 

Oct 2009
Cincinnati, OH