Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > First Brew Experience and Second Brew Recipe

Old 01-15-2010, 04:55 PM   #1
play_it_leo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default First Brew Experience and Second Brew Recipe

Greetings. Im new to the hobby although Ive been a craft brew enthusiast for years. I worked as a server at larger brew pub for about 5 years during college.

I thought I would post my experience on my first recipe and get some feedback on a recipe I plan on brewing this Saturday.

I brewed the Rogue Brutal Bitter kit on new years eve. Everything went smoothly except for a few missteps. When transferring to the fermenting bucket, I thought it would be a good idea to strain it through cheese cloth on top of a colander to remove the whole hop cones that were added at flame out. This was not a good idea, as it clogged almost immediately and I had to remove the cloth to get it to flow through the colander.

I pitched the Wyeast slap pack at 75 and fermentation started with in 24 hours.

It has been in the primary for two weeks, and I just took a reading and its at the target FG of 1.012. I took a taste and as expected it has a very hoppy aroma and a smooth mouth feel. I plan on letting it sit for another week and then bottle it next weekend.

Secondly, I am planning on brewing a stout this weekend in hopes it will be ready for Pattys day. Here is the recipe. I cobbled it together from some stout recipes here on the forum and other resources. I plugged it into iBrewmaster iPhone app. To get the stats. Let me know what you think. Any suggestions based on my planned recipe?

A few questions:
Will one vial of the yeast (given I do a starter) be enough?
What do you think about my hops? Enough, too much? I know stouts generally have a higher IBU to balance the malt and roasted flavors, but how accurate is this software at predicting the IBUs?