Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Chest freezer might need new "start unit"
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2010, 07:20 PM   #1
GalenSevinne
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 41
Default Chest freezer might need new "start unit"

My chest freezer has died but it would cost too much to have someone come in and fix it as it is old and purchased cheaply off Craigslist. An appiance guy I spoke to on the phone said the problem sounded like a dead "start unit" as he called it.

What would it take to replace this start unit? I don't even know the brand of the chest freezer as it is that old and has been painted over a couple times. Are the start units universal?

Any help on this process would be appreciated.


__________________
In Primary -
Unnamed Barleywine
Bottled -
"G" Scotch ale
Tupleo Honey IPA
Dead Brown Mouse Ale
GalenSevinne is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 07:21 PM   #2
GilaMinumBeer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
GilaMinumBeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 52,252
Liked 5865 Times on 5099 Posts
Likes Given: 80

Default

Isn;t a "start unit" basically just a big capacitor?


GilaMinumBeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 11:12 AM   #3
marzsit
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kent, wa.
Posts: 316
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default

most hermetic compressors have an external capacitor that does sometimes go bad. it's a $10-20 part and is worth replacing before considering the unit to be scrap.
marzsit is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 04:48 PM   #4
Hermit
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Alternate Universe
Posts: 2,262
Liked 70 Times on 59 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

Does the unit/compressor go buzzzzzzzzz and then click off? If it has a capacitor used to help start then it might be bad. The other possibility is the relay. The capacitor generally has a small round hole by the terminals. If it is bad, then you will get some indication of leakage or something there. It can be checked with an ohm meter. An appliance parts store will generally do this for you.
Hermit is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 04:51 PM   #5
Tonedef131
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne
Posts: 1,906
Liked 26 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

My start capacitor essentially exploded, I just had to disconnect the old one and put the new one it. The hardest part was finding a place that had one in stock, I think it was in the $40-50 range.
Tonedef131 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 05:00 PM   #6
GalenSevinne
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hermit View Post
Does the unit/compressor go buzzzzzzzzz and then click off? If it has a capacitor used to help start then it might be bad. The other possibility is the relay. The capacitor generally has a small round hole by the terminals. If it is bad, then you will get some indication of leakage or something there. It can be checked with an ohm meter. An appliance parts store will generally do this for you.
yes that is the symptom. sounds like it wants to start then clicks and goes off. I don't know much about this stuff but the compressor is an Embraco "EM40sc".

I am wondering if anyone can post a link to the capacitor that might be needed or just a typical capacitor so I can know what to look for?

Thanks.
__________________
In Primary -
Unnamed Barleywine
Bottled -
"G" Scotch ale
Tupleo Honey IPA
Dead Brown Mouse Ale
GalenSevinne is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 05:06 PM   #7
Hermit
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Alternate Universe
Posts: 2,262
Liked 70 Times on 59 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GalenSevinne View Post
yes that is the symptom. sounds like it wants to start then clicks and goes off. I don't know much about this stuff but the compressor is an Embraco "EM40sc".

I am wondering if anyone can post a link to the capacitor that might be needed or just a typical capacitor so I can know what to look for?

Thanks.
This gives a rough idea bout what it would look like It is a round plastic two terminal device in most cases. Especially older units.
http://www.acmehowto.com/howto/appli.../capacitor.php
Hermit is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 05:06 PM   #8
lamarguy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,657
Liked 24 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

You need to pull the old capacitor to get the voltage and mF numbers before you do anything else.

I buy capacitors through A/C supply companies (my father has an A/C license), but you can purchase them at reasonable prices through McMaster. If you pay more than $20 for a residential motor capacitor, you're paying too much.
__________________
Doggfather Brewery

Planned: Lambic, American IPA
Fermenting: 6 gals of 1.090 stout (Belgian) & 6 gals of 1.090 stout (English)
Tapped: Berliner Weisse, Black English IPA, German Pils, & Live Oak Primus
lamarguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 05:11 PM   #9
GalenSevinne
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hermit View Post
This gives a rough idea bout what it would look like It is a round plastic two terminal device in most cases. Especially older units.
http://www.acmehowto.com/howto/appli.../capacitor.php
dang...is it really that dangerous to pull this thing out? I have had the freezer unplugged now for about a month.
__________________
In Primary -
Unnamed Barleywine
Bottled -
"G" Scotch ale
Tupleo Honey IPA
Dead Brown Mouse Ale
GalenSevinne is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 05:21 PM   #10
Hermit
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Alternate Universe
Posts: 2,262
Liked 70 Times on 59 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GalenSevinne View Post
dang...is it really that dangerous to pull this thing out? I have had the freezer unplugged now for about a month.
Not really. Don't use your tongue to discharge it. Not recommended but always used by techs, place a screw driver between the terminals and see if it sparks. These things USUALLY discharge over time though. If not, they would make great batteries.


Hermit is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"American" or "Imperial" Oatmeal Stout Recipe: Critiques please! cladinshadows Recipes/Ingredients 4 01-04-2012 11:21 PM
Cheap controller - "freezer conversion thermostat" ThreeDogsNE Kegerators and Keezers 3 06-05-2010 05:36 PM
"Video Surveillance on the Fly" or "Urine trouble now mister!" Tenchiro Debate Forum 1 05-23-2009 06:33 PM
ok I still don't understand why u need to "start" your liquid yeast... illnastyimpreza General Techniques 7 10-24-2008 02:39 PM
When does "brewing" actually start? jjasghar All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 21 12-31-2007 02:11 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS