Help me wire this motor - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Help me wire this motor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2010, 05:29 PM   #1
nickpgoodman
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
Bedford, TX
Posts: 61
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts



Hey guys, have a motor I'm going to use to run my mill.

It's 1/2 hp, 1725 rpm motor 110v.

As you can see it already has a plug attached to it, but it also has another lead with a black and white wire, I assume this goes to a potentiometer/rheostat or maybe just an on off switch? Is it feasible to short the black and white to get full speed or what do I need to do with those leads? Do you think I can wire in speed controller so I can do direct drive?





Here's a pic of the wiring.

Here's a pic of the wiring. It's hard to tell from pic, but the wire for the plug that would go to the wall has a black and white and then ground of course, the white connects directly to the motor, the black is spliced and connects to the other wire in the picture, the white on the second wire is also wired directly into the motor. So if that's the case it looks like the second lead would have to go to some sort of speed controller/on off switch. Hope that makes sense.




And finally here are the specs on the plate of the motor.

Plate says GE model 5KH47DR439
HP 1/2
RPM 1725
V 115
CY 60
A 7.7
CODE 814M PC
40C AMB CL B


So, could the speed be adjust on this motor? Or is it designed just to run at the rated RPMs and I will have to belt drive my mill to adjust the rpms down to around 300.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 05:42 PM   #2
Ricand
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Ricand's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Sebastopol, CA
Posts: 715
Liked 16 Times on 14 Posts


I'm no expert, but I believe its is a synchronous motor. That extra lead is for a starting/run capacitor. Difficult to speed control, use step down pulleys.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 05:48 PM   #3
Laughing_Gnome_Invisible
 
Laughing_Gnome_Invisible's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
Posts: 12,250
Liked 697 Times on 513 Posts


I know all about electricity as is evident in this thread. In my opinion that motor will not work without water.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 07:11 PM   #4
TimWeber
Recipes 
 
Oct 2009
Pennsylvania
Posts: 159
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts


Oh I am interested in this thread. I just purchased this motor

http://www.herbach.com/Merchant2/mer...egory_Code=MTR

and dont know how to wire it up. It came with two capacitors. Not sure what they are for.
__________________
Pilot Brewing System


Fermentation Chamber


My carboy washer


You can follow me on Twitter @TimWeber

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 07:53 PM   #5
nickpgoodman
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
Bedford, TX
Posts: 61
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


So, being that it's already wired the way it is it looks like I don't need a starting capacitor right?

Could I just put a spst switch on the white and black leads and I'd ready to go then?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 08:39 PM   #6
ol' rummie
Recipes 
 
May 2008
Posts: 153
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts


Where did you get the motor?
Does it run when plugged in, or does it just hum?
It looks like a washing machine or dryer motor.
Most of those types of motors have start windings and run windings, usually both sets of windings need to be energized to start the motor, then power must be cut off to the start windings so they don't burn up.
I'm guessing that the other set of wires are for the start windings that went to a switch or relay.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 08:54 PM   #7
IrregularPulse
Hobby Collector
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
IrregularPulse's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2007
Posts: 51,486
Liked 3515 Times on 3328 Posts


What happens when you plug it in??
__________________
Tap Room Hobo

I should have stuck to four fingers in Vegas.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 08:57 PM   #8
Doc Robinson
 
Doc Robinson's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2009
Bonita Springs, Florida
Posts: 2,354
Liked 20 Times on 16 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by IrregularPulse View Post
What happens when you plug it in??
The damn thing keeps teleporting him back to 1985!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 09:32 PM   #9
Laughing_Gnome_Invisible
 
Laughing_Gnome_Invisible's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
Posts: 12,250
Liked 697 Times on 513 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Robinson View Post
The damn thing keeps teleporting him back to 1985!


I'm not laughing because it's funny. I'm laughing because I could have started this thread...... and it's also funny because of anything I ever tried with stuff I don't understand in my life!

I love experimenting with potentially dangerous stuff. Thjis is the way we learn and possibly lose a finger or two.

To the original poster: I am honestly not criticizing your thread. I am simply having flashbacks to some of my most memorable disasters. The most disastrous ones were also the most fun!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 10:15 PM   #10
Ricand
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Ricand's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Sebastopol, CA
Posts: 715
Liked 16 Times on 14 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by ol' rummie View Post
Where did you get the motor?
Does it run when plugged in, or does it just hum?
It looks like a washing machine or dryer motor.
Most of those types of motors have start windings and run windings, usually both sets of windings need to be energized to start the motor, then power must be cut off to the start windings so they don't burn up.
I'm guessing that the other set of wires are for the start windings that went to a switch or relay.
Absolutely, plug it in to see if it knows the words or just hummmmmssss. It shouldn't hurt it briefly. The start/run windings are normally on a centrifugal switch, my money is still on a capacitor. If it just hums then that's most likely what it needs.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RTD Wire Options Bigscience Equipment/Sanitation 11 11-26-2009 02:51 AM
How to wire a PID and SSR for E-kettle/HLT Orangevango Kettles, Mash Tuns & Hot Liquor Tanks 3 08-10-2009 12:00 AM
3 Wire RTD Question brewjunky Equipment/Sanitation 2 06-20-2009 07:47 PM
Wire Rope!?!?!? ShortSnoutBrewing Hops Growing 5 05-04-2009 01:14 PM
Need some help to wire this controller SSRider Equipment/Sanitation 5 02-22-2009 09:42 AM


Forum Jump