Good Online Store for Double Pole GFCI Breakers? - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Good Online Store for Double Pole GFCI Breakers?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2010, 02:30 PM   #1
zinger084
Recipes 
 
Jul 2009
Ohio
Posts: 125
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts



Title says it all. I have found a few but they seem higher price than expected. I am looking specifically for a Square D compatible Homeline 240V Double Pole GFCI 30Amp.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 04:39 PM   #2
Ohio-Ed
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Ohio-Ed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2008
Posts: 2,067
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by zinger084 View Post
Title says it all. I have found a few but they seem higher price than expected. I am looking specifically for a Square D compatible Homeline 240V Double Pole GFCI 30Amp.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.
If you are interested, I have a brand new 30 Amp, 4 Wire, 8 Gauge, GFCI built-in, 17 Foot cable, which includes the male plug that I might want to get rid of. I'm considering selling it because I need more than 30amps.

It has never been wired.

Here is a picture.



Let me know if you have any interest...

Ed

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 05:23 PM   #3
zinger084
Recipes 
 
Jul 2009
Ohio
Posts: 125
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


PM Sent.....

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 06:38 AM   #4
Photopilot
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Jul 2007
Oceanside, CA
Posts: 1,204
Liked 121 Times on 90 Posts


Piggybacking on this.

Where to find a double pole GFCI without breaking the bank.

My home is wired with a Double D panel so I would like a Double D GFCI. My search only shows Canadian websites advertising them. I plan on wiring into a solo box as I do not live in my house now but rent in another city but would like to install it into my home when I get to live there.

I have seen a 50A 120/240 Jacuzzi panel at Lowes for $79 with an electrical box which seems reasonable considering the outrageous costs of double pole GFCI CBs. The only problem is the box is huge and I would like to make this look nice or at least contain the whole package in a rack mounted computer case i have and not have a huge metal box just to hold one CB.

While I am at it how many Watts can a 30A 240V CB support? What are you doing that may need more than 30A Ed?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 12:35 PM   #5
whitescout
Recipes 
 
Feb 2006
Shawnee, KS
Posts: 67

Home Depot carries double pole GFCI breakers for the homeline/square D boxes. The spa panel that you are looking at, is actually a 100 or 125 amp( I don't recall which) subpanel. It comes with 1 50 amp gfci ( GE brand) breaker, and spaces to add up to 4 more circuits.

You could always feed this subpanel from your main panel, and then feed whatever box you want on your stand.
__________________
Primary : Jefe's hefe 2
Primary : I'ma IPA 2
Secondary : Empty
Secondary : Scouting for Barleywine
Conditioning : Carmello Vanilla Ale
Bottled and Drinking : Poughkeepsie Porter
Kegged : Oatmeal Stout
I'ma IPA 1
Topeka Steam
Jefe's Jefe 1

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 01:25 PM   #6
egurney
Recipes 
 
Apr 2008
Posts: 262
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


I got mine on eBay.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 01:31 PM   #7
The Pol
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
Posts: 11,454
Liked 97 Times on 82 Posts


Got my 50A at Menards for $99

I think my 30A was about $80

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 02:54 PM   #8
Ohio-Ed
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Ohio-Ed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2008
Posts: 2,067
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Photopilot View Post
Piggybacking on this.

Where to find a double pole GFCI without breaking the bank.

My home is wired with a Double D panel so I would like a Double D GFCI. My search only shows Canadian websites advertising them. I plan on wiring into a solo box as I do not live in my house now but rent in another city but would like to install it into my home when I get to live there.

I have seen a 50A 120/240 Jacuzzi panel at Lowes for $79 with an electrical box which seems reasonable considering the outrageous costs of double pole GFCI CBs. The only problem is the box is huge and I would like to make this look nice or at least contain the whole package in a rack mounted computer case i have and not have a huge metal box just to hold one CB.

While I am at it how many Watts can a 30A 240V CB support? What are you doing that may need more than 30A Ed?
First, watts is calculated by: Volts X Amps = Watts.
So for your question: 240 X 30 = 7200.

I am going all electric... on a 50amp GFCI, I plan to run;
5500 watt HLT OR 5500 watt BK (not both at the same time)
1500 watt RIMs Heater
2 March Pumps
BCS-460 Controller
Laptop Computer
26 gigawatt Flux Capacitor

When I originally got the 30amp cord, may plan was to only run one or the other of the 5500 watt elements from it and have a separate 120v line into the panel. I decided to go to a single cord for the rig.

Ed

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 04:00 PM   #9
The Pol
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
Posts: 11,454
Liked 97 Times on 82 Posts


I am pushing my 50A with:

9000W
BCS
(2) LG 3-MD-HC pumps
E-bay cooling fan

I actually have to start the pumps first (the amps at start up would exceed my circuit capability if I had 9000W of heating power running concurrently)

The initial inrush on the pumps is 8+ amps each... then they run at 2.4A

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 04:13 PM   #10
Photopilot
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Jul 2007
Oceanside, CA
Posts: 1,204
Liked 121 Times on 90 Posts


Thanks for the ideas guys.

I will think about that cord Pickles.

The jacuzzi panel seams like a better idea now knowing it could be running multiple circuits. What I would really like though is a Square D CB, unfortunately I do not have the Homeline panel but the pro one. I see GFCIs for this in single pole configuration but not double pole.

One question on the dual voltage wires though. I have read that the jacuzzi panel or the 30A cord needs to be fed 4 wires to work. I currently live in an older rental. I was planning on wiring off the Dryer outlet which is only 240V.

Does this cord or panel really need the neutral wire or just need it to run 120V in the same panel? Would there be a danger from running only the 240V to a panel or control box?

Could I run an individual wire from a 120v outlet into the panel to achieve the needed power? The nearest source to the intended brew area is a GFCI outlet. I am afraid of running it through a second GFCI and getting inadvertent tripping.

My plan is to run only a BK at 5500 watts, which should be under 23 amps, then a pump and a PID, SSR combo, off the top of my head the PID requires a 12V power supply? I do not think a pump and power supply should take more than 7 amps so a 30 A CB should work if can figure out the 4 wire issue.

If I run a four wire does the two pole GFCI protect the neutral wire and 120V circuits as well?

Reason: another add on question

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
best online store for DME? alexavery Recipes/Ingredients 3 11-22-2011 09:00 PM
Online canadian store jmartyg Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 9 11-07-2008 02:56 PM
New Online Store Axegod General Chit Chat 1 06-16-2007 01:07 AM
Good online brewery supply store? Willsellout Equipment/Sanitation 2 07-11-2006 02:32 AM
Good online brew store Vgonman General Beer Discussion 1 08-13-2005 02:06 PM


Forum Jump