Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Putting wort into yeast slant
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-02-2010, 04:50 PM   #1
Atticmonkey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: La Salle, IL
Posts: 114
Default Putting wort into yeast slant

I read in a few places about when it comes time to make a starter from a yeast slant that you can put sterile wort into your slant tube, swirl it around and pour it into your starter. Does anybody here do that? If so will that slant regrow itself or is it spent after that? Thanks for the advice.


__________________
Life is like a plate of chitlins, everythings fine till you realize what your eating.
Atticmonkey is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 05:41 AM   #2
krops13
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 279
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

I don't do it this way, but IMO the nutrient in the agar is gone. The yeast use it all up. I'm sure you could reinoculate a new slant from an old slant that was swirled. But I think contamination is a risk this way.

FWIW yeast culturing owns!!!!!!!!!


krops13 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 05:44 PM   #3
bja
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,987
Liked 153 Times on 115 Posts

Default

What I do is add a few ml of wort to the slant, scrape the yeast from the surface of the gel and let it sit for a day. Then dump that into about 50 ml of wort and step it up from there. The old slant will grow yeast again, but I've never used it for fear of contamination.
bja is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 09:30 PM   #4
ekjohns
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 1,401
Liked 22 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

do you guys autoclave the equipment used to transfer the beer into the vial? Could i just autoclave some extra vials with 10 ml of wort and pour close to a flame (flaming cap of course)
ekjohns is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 12:32 AM   #5
Atticmonkey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: La Salle, IL
Posts: 114
Default

Yeah thats actually what I do. I will make up usally 120ml of starter wort. Divide it up into 12-10ml vials and autoclave like normal.
__________________
Life is like a plate of chitlins, everythings fine till you realize what your eating.
Atticmonkey is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 04:18 PM   #6
Wolfy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atticmonkey View Post
I read in a few places about when it comes time to make a starter from a yeast slant that you can put sterile wort into your slant tube, swirl it around and pour it into your starter. Does anybody here do that? If so will that slant regrow itself or is it spent after that? Thanks for the advice.
That's the way I do it. I pour about 5ml of wort ontop of the slant and gently scrape off the yeast with an inoculation loop, if I do it well there is no yeast left on the slant so it's discarded.

However, some people use an inoculation loop to select only a small amount of yeast from the slant, and add that to a very small amount of wort. That way they don't 'use up' the slant and can continue to reuse the same slant for a long period of time (up to 4 years in some cases), however it does take an extra step when making the starter.
Wolfy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 10:41 PM   #7
Budzu
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 793
Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfy View Post
However, some people use an inoculation loop to select only a small amount of yeast from the slant, and add that to a very small amount of wort. That way they don't 'use up' the slant and can continue to reuse the same slant for a long period of time (up to 4 years in some cases), however it does take an extra step when making the starter.
I am in this crowd. I keep one slant and one water culture for each of my strains. The water doesn't get touched until I need to make a new slant (if its gone brown or 6 months).

You only need a tiny amount of yeast off the slant, and possibly an extra day to use this method. My first addition is to 10 ml in a vial sealed without oxygen, and I give it 24 hours before stepping up.


__________________
Countertop Brutus Budzu-style
Budzu is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yeast Slant Trade BayouBrew Fermentation & Yeast 6 03-27-2013 11:23 PM
For Sale - Wanted: slant of Denny's Favorite yeast Hugh_Jass For Sale 9 01-14-2010 03:15 PM
Putting in cold ale yeast asterix404 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 4 03-31-2009 01:54 PM
Is is PC to ask around for a yeast slant? zymurgist626 Recipes/Ingredients 4 01-13-2009 04:01 PM
Yeast slant - tube stoppers? Funkenjaeger General Techniques 1 07-21-2007 07:51 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS