Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Mashing and achieving the correct OG

Old 01-02-2010, 01:45 AM   #1
PaloAltoMark
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Mashing and achieving the correct OG

Hi Folks:

I'm new to all grain and tried the "Pliny the Elder" clone kit from Austin Homebrew.

I followed the instructions in the kit but when I took the OG of the wort it was way too low. I should have had about 5.25 gallons of wort at 1.074. To achieve that gravity, I needed to boil down the wort to just over 4 gallons.

What might have gone wrong with the mashing process?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

-Mark

Old 01-02-2010, 02:13 AM   #2
Yuri_Rage
Gritty.
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 704 Times on 448 Posts
Likes Given: 76

Let's start with your process. As specifically as you can describe it, what did you do?

Old 01-02-2010, 02:20 AM   #3
impatient
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuri_Rage View Post
Let's start with your process. As specifically as you can describe it, what did you do?
Example:

What temp was the wort when you measured the gravity?
Is your hydrometer calibrated? Should be on 0 with tap water with no suspended air bubbles.
How many quarts per pound?
What temp was your mash?
Is you thermometer accurate?
How did you rinse the grains?

Sorry, I am not familiar with the kit that you used.

Primary:
Secondary:
Bottled: Pale Ale, IPA, Extra Pale Ale
Kegged: Hoppy Vienna Lager
Drinking: AllBitterNoFlavorTonOMunich Ale, Amber Ale, Cream of Three Crops
Soon: SA Black Lager Clone

Old 01-02-2010, 02:36 AM   #4
PaloAltoMark
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Hi Folks:

I went back and reviewed my notes and think I found the answer.... I fly sparged but the water temp was probably lower than 170 -- maybe 150 or 155 degrees. Let me know if you think that would be the cause of the problem.

Here are the basic fact: