Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Noob with a problem...

Old 07-14-2005, 07:52 PM   #1
MustaphaMond
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Noob with a problem...

I started brewing mead about 7 months ago. My first was a medium sweet orange blossom mead which turned out well and was recently kegged. My second batch is an apple (used un-pastuerized apple cider in place of water) mead and I think it's ruined.

I believe everything went smoothly up until the seconary fermenter. After approximately month 3-4 of being in the secondary fermenter, the ferment-lock opened for an undetermined amount of time (forgot to check vodka level in ferment lock). When the problem was noticed, the lock was re-sealed and has remained so until recently. I should mention that we added no sulphites.

While racking into a keg I sampled the mead and the flavor was quite off what I expected. Not poisonous but also not tasty. From the look of the mead in the carboy I don't believe there was an infection but I am worried about oxidation or other problems I may not be aware of.

What would you expecct to happen if the ferment-lock opened for a week to a month? Is there any way to correct the bad taste?

Any suggestions or info will be greatly appreciated. thanks.

Old 07-16-2005, 03:25 PM   #2
SwAMi75

Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Howdy! I've never made a mead before, so I'm no expert. I have no clue what oxidized mead would taste like, but that's a possibility. If you weren't having a really active ferment, it's possible that you lost your CO2 in headspace, and it was oxidized.

Another thing that comes to mind is the cider. Do you think it might have been something in that? Lotsa variables....additives, infection, etc. Do you think that maybe it's just the flavor you're not used to, something that might age out of it?