Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Just another Newb Yeast starter question

Old 12-20-2009, 07:17 PM   #1
KingC
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Just another Newb Yeast starter question

Hey all,

I'm planning on starting up a brew of NB's Cherry Stout extract kit. Anyone ever done that kit? My main question is: the kit came with a pack of dried yeast. All my other previous brews were done using smack pack cultures of yeast, so I've never done a starter culture before. How necessary is it (using this kit or any other time) to pitch a starter culture vs just tossing in the dried yeast. Could I just inoculate my cooled wort with the packet of dried yeast on the day of brewing? I'm sure a starter culture is the way to go, but I'm anxious to brew this up and don't know if I really wanna wait around. Any suggestions would be swell.

Old 12-20-2009, 07:23 PM   #2
Cheeto
Born again N00b
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 61 Times on 60 Posts
Likes Given: 18

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/vs-p...8/#post1204665

Take a look here

I would not make a starter with the dry yeast.
I use dry yeast more often than not, all I do is sprinkle it over the wort.
My method may not be right to someone else but it works for me.

Old 12-20-2009, 07:30 PM   #3
likwidbliss
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Dump and wait. I have never had a yeast dry or liquid fail. I rarely if ever make a starter. The yest has been around for millions of years and making beer for thousands.

Old 12-21-2009, 12:09 AM   #4
KingC
Recipes 

Thanks guys. I guess my main concern was not that the dry yeast wouldn't work, but that it would take longer for them to activate and begin replication thus increasing the chances of a bacterial infection occurring. But I do have a tendency to over-analyze things often and maybe the best advice I can give my self is to, RDWHAHB.

Old 12-21-2009, 12:56 AM   #5
wyzazz
Recipes 

Liked 47 Times on 45 Posts