Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > New to home brewing

Old 10-20-2006, 07:03 PM   #1
aubd
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default New to home brewing

Hello,

I am new to home brewing and have a couple questions.
I'm making my first batch (a lager) (currently in the primary for 2 days) and have been reading some of your threads.

The beer kit I bought to "learn" how to brew is one with bagged concentrated wort (no boiling necessary) and comes with an instruction manual.

What's been puzzling me is the fact they tell me to seal my plastic primary's lid closed (solid lid, no holes for airlock) and open it once a day to take SG readings. Won't that top want to blow off eventually?? I asked the guy at the home brew shop and he told me that's how he does it himself... ?

And another question :
The kit says that fermentation should begin within 24-48 hours of pitching the yeast. I'm close to the 36 hour mark right now and the mixture seems to be bubbling quite a lot so something is happening but there is no foam as of right now on top. Is that foam going to come as fermentation gets stronger or is something wrong with my beer?

Thanks

Old 10-20-2006, 07:25 PM   #2
dougjones31
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

My grandfather brewed in old butter churns with wet towels over the top. You should be fine burping your bucket. You will eventually graduate to using glass carboys and blowoff tubes. But for now, what you have will work.

It will not blow the top off because once it builds pressure up it will start to open and the pressure will seep out and it will regulate before the top blows off. Most tops on plastic buckets are not air tight anyway.

You brew is bubbling now so fermentation has started. It will form foam on top in the next 48 hours.

Relax....this is supposed to be fun!

Old 10-20-2006, 07:26 PM   #3
dougjones31
Recipes