Keg Connection New Inline Flow Control Valve Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brewing Software > BeerSmith "boil volume based on equipment"
Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2009, 11:22 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Carolina, lowcountry!
Posts: 91
Default BeerSmith "boil volume based on equipment"

Hello All,
I am a realtively new brewer, extracts and partial boil only at this point. I have a quick question with regards to the BeerSMith software. What is the difference between setting my boil volume based on equipment vs. setting batch size and boil volume?
I have a 5 gallon pot, but I would be hard pressed to ever boil 4.25 gallons in it successfully, with no boil-over. Generally, I just boil 3 gallons of wort and add to my carboy of water (after cooling) to make 5 gallons. Should I set BeerSmith to calculate my efficiencies etc based on a 5 gallon batch, 3 gallon boil OR should I set it based on my equipment, which is non-realistically, a 5gallon pot (with a 4.25 gallon boil)? Seems like if I were to set it based on equipment, I should set my equipment based on a 4 gallon pot, which leaves a workable boil volume of 3.25 gallons.
I guess I am just not sure what the difference is, between setting batch size/boil volume in BeerSmith or setting it based on equipment.
Thanks in advance!

aksea102 is offline
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 12:21 PM   #2
big beers turn my gears
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
beerthirty's Avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Podunk, VA. Not far from the NC line.
Posts: 2,654
Liked 29 Times on 13 Posts


Boil volume based on equipment takes into account equipment loss and gives a warning if your equipment wont handle desired batch size. I'm sure there is a way to set beersmith to calculate partial boils but I couldn't seem to find it. It might need to be manually set. It would be a lot simpler to get a bigger boil pot do do full boils. Your beer would improve also. Either way I recommend the use of fermen-cap or infant gas drops to reduce the chance of boil overs. Both work quite well and don't affect the flavor or head retention of your finished beer.
Originally Posted by the_bird View Post
"I've got a fever... and the only prescription is, MORE CARBOYS!"
primary- Tangerine Dream, SWMBO slayer,
serving- amber ale hop experiment #6, Roggenbier, apfelwine
planning- Cru?
conditioning- 9/9/09 barleywine
Drink water?... Never, fish fornicate in it.--- W.C. Fields
Most problems can be solved with the proper application of force.
beerthirty is offline
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 01:13 PM   #3
Ale's What Cures You!
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yooper's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UP of Michigan
Posts: 66,377
Liked 6383 Times on 4545 Posts
Likes Given: 1743


You can do either- either manually set the boil size to your boil size, and leave the batch size at 5 gallons, or use the "boil volume based on equipment option". One of the options is a 5 gallon pot, which I think gives you a boil volume of 4.08. If you chose a 4 gallon pot, the boil size is 3.25 gallon.

Whatever size boil you do is what you should have chosen, whether you do it manually or not. That helps you figure hops utilization.
Broken Leg Brewery
Giving beer a leg to stand on since 2006

Follow me on facebook:
But I'm pretty boring so don't expect much!
Yooper is offline
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Boil The Hops, Not The Malt Extract" By: Steve Bader gunnyg Extract Brewing 32 02-12-2011 10:33 PM
Anyone tried the "Easy Cream Ale" in the All Grain Sample 1 from BeerSmith? BillTheSlink All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 0 06-30-2009 03:59 AM
"Wine" equipment for beer brewing? jayhoz Equipment/Sanitation 4 08-15-2007 07:52 PM
My first "equipment limitation" problem San Jose State University Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 6 04-10-2007 06:19 PM
Beersmith "My Equipment" questions AleHole Equipment/Sanitation 3 03-19-2007 02:23 PM

Forum Jump

Newest Threads