Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > 1st beer - pretty good!

Old 12-01-2009, 04:24 AM   #1
motobrewer
I'm no atheist scientist, but...
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 358 Times on 290 Posts
Likes Given: 484

Default 1st beer - pretty good!

My 1st beer was a British Bitter kit from Northern Brewer. OG 1.035, FG's around 1.006. Only specialty grain was 1/2 pound of Simpsons Caramalt, otherwise it was just DME and LME. Kent Goldings for bittering/aroma; wyeast 1098 pitched right from the pack. Transferred to a secondary after 12 days, then bottled two weeks after that. It's been in the bottle three weeks today.

The whole time I was tasting the various hydro samples, they were all thin, watery, and bland. I made up my mind to never brew anything under 40 again.

Finally threw one in the fridge and cracked it open. It's pretty darn good! Not thin or watery at all. I'm also very impressed by how clear it is, it's squeaky clean. I used irish moss, and did a full volume boil. Best part of this beer is the cost to brew - about $20.

Hopefully the three other batches in the basement will turn out just as good!

Old 12-01-2009, 04:39 AM   #2
doggage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

That's awesome! Congratulations on a good beer! There's a lot to be said for full-volume extract brewing. I've been doing all-grain brews for the last 5 or 6 batches, but I still haven't quite gotten anything as good as the old full-boil extract brews I've done.

Old 12-01-2009, 06:15 AM   #3
Chudz
Recipes 

That's great news, and I've been thinking of doing a Bitter for my next batch. I think you've sold me on the idea.

How much sudz could a Sudz Chudz chugz, if a Sudz Chudz could chugz sudz?

Beer: It's a glassful of Happiness!

Old 12-01-2009, 06:20 AM   #4
homeslice
Recipes