Two elements in a kettle - one SSR? - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Kettles, Mash Tuns & Hot Liquor Tanks > Two elements in a kettle - one SSR?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2009, 05:24 PM   #1
Amity
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
Edmonton
Posts: 252
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts



I have a 40A SSR on its way to me, and a PID. My local Home Depot has 4500w/240v, 3000w/240v, and 1500w/120v elements. I boil up to 13 gallons for 10 gallon batches. I think 4500w is too small for what I want. I thought of running two elements (4500 and 1500) on two different circuits (4500w on the PID, and the 1500w on a seperate 120v circuit.

But can I run two 3000w elements from the same SSR? What about 4500 and 3000? That would work out to be about 27A for the 6000w, and 32A for 7500w. I know they would both be controlled by the PID with no differentiation between the elements.

I'd just wire the elements to the same terminals of the SSR. Correct?

(I have an electrician who will check our work when we're done!)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 05:38 PM   #2
OhioBrewingTechnologies
Recipes 
 
Oct 2009
Northeast Ohio
Posts: 58
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


That should work if you heat sink the SSR properly.
6000 watts isn't far above how they're usually used (5500) anyway.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 05:42 PM   #3
DavidP
 
DavidP's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2009
Milwaukee
Posts: 134

I don't see why not.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 07:26 PM   #4
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
CodeRage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2007
Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 2,222
Liked 47 Times on 20 Posts


You'll be fine. 6000W is 25 Amps at 240V.
__________________
Brutus 20e build | Electrical Primer for Brewers | Auber SYL-2362A2 PID Install & Config
So as I am walking out the door this morning I think to my self:
"self, going to work on Monday is like knowing you're going to get kicked in the nuts. You just don't know when or by who"

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 07:50 PM   #5
tannnick
Recipes 
 
Feb 2009
Posts: 101
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


I boil 11 gal batches and a 5500w 240v element was too much using a simple on/off light switch. Boil over non stop on a 60 min boil. I went down to a 4500w 240v element and was much better. With your PID, you should be able to control your element with percentage of use. Have it 100% to get to boil, then tone it down to like 75% to maintain boil. I was shocked that a 5500w 240v was too much, but I stood at my BK for the whole boil blowing air and using a spray bottle with cold water to keep from boiling over. PITA!!! Hope that helps.
__________________
Cherry Street Brewing Cooperative
www.facebook.com/TannersVickery

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 09:00 PM   #6
lamarguy
 
lamarguy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
Austin, TX
Posts: 1,653
Liked 25 Times on 24 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by tannnick View Post
I boil 11 gal batches and a 5500w 240v element was too much using a simple on/off light switch. Boil over non stop on a 60 min boil...I stood at my BK for the whole boil blowing air and using a spray bottle with cold water to keep from boiling over.
Ha, you could have practiced your light switch trigger finger - 1.2 seconds on, 0.8 seconds off 30 times a minute.
__________________
Doggfather Brewery

Planned: Lambic, American IPA
Fermenting: 6 gals of 1.090 stout (Belgian) & 6 gals of 1.090 stout (English)
Tapped: Berliner Weisse, Black English IPA, German Pils, & Live Oak Primus

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Elements addis29 Equipment/Sanitation 16 09-29-2009 12:24 AM
Heating Elements batfishdog37 All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 1 04-30-2009 08:47 PM
JB Weld, Electric Elements HomebrewJeff Kettles, Mash Tuns & Hot Liquor Tanks 2 03-14-2009 02:32 AM
Heating Elements? RoosterCogburn Brew Stands 51 01-26-2009 02:43 AM
Heating Elements not tight in Electric Kettle germanskyy Equipment/Sanitation 9 01-16-2008 03:22 AM


Forum Jump