Browser Based Boil Timer [v1.0] - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brewing Software > Browser Based Boil Timer [v1.0]

Old 11-17-2009, 02:57 PM   #1
cscade
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Feb 2009
Wooster, Ohio
Liked 18 Times on 14 Posts

Good day everyone! I've played with a lot of brewing software, but there was one need I didn't find filled easily anywhere:

I wanted a simple, extensible, portable way to track my boil additions.

I'm a web programmer, so I chose the platform I'm most comfortable with. The program is extremely bare bones, and is only designed to do one thing. I always have my laptop or my iPhone with me while brewing, so a web interface makes sense for me. I formatted the time input the way we think about our recipes. If you set it up for a 60 minute boil, and set a hop addition for 5 minutes, it will count down to 55 minutes after the start of the boil. Here's a quick screenshot, and then I'll run down the features:

Features:
  • Tracks any number of boil additions
  • Shows proper elapsed time even if computer has gone to sleep and been re-activiated
  • Additon times, names, and quantity can be changed while the timer is running
  • Option to hide completed boil additions
  • Tested in IE 8, Firefox 3.5, Chrome, and Safari (each browser makes it look a little different)

Things I'd like to add:
  • Audio feedack at each addition time
  • Option for pop-up box at each addition time
  • Ability to remove unwanted or accidental rows
  • Specific layout better suited to iPhone

My goal is to keep this thing simple and purpose driven, but I am interested in your feedback and suggestions. To use, just point your browser at http://brewtimer.headfog.org! Cheers!

Update: This is now a github-hosted open source project! I encourage anyone interested in the project to fork the repository, make any changes you like, and contribute back your commits! The project can be browsed and cloned here: GitHub repo